fbpx Roma Self-Representation | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Roma Self-Representation

This series originates from the Roma Heroes - VI. International Roma Theatre Festival November 2023, which showcased six performances from diverse European Roma theatres (Hungary, Romania, Italy, Sweden). The aim of the festival and this series is to present and preserve the values of the theatre and theatrical heroes of the largest ethnic minority in Europe, highlighting the challenges the members of this minority face because of segregative and discriminatory practices—which offend minority rights.

In this HowlRound series, we have two essays, a livestream broadcast of six of the shows featured in the 2023 festival, and a live conversation of the artists involved in the festival culminating on Thursday 28 March 2024.

A group of people sit in a circle listening to a speaker.
Viewpoints for Achieving Authentic Representation of Roma Communities on Stage
Essay

Viewpoints for Achieving Authentic Representation of Roma Communities on Stage

27 March 2024

Tímea Éva Bogya, dramaturg and project manager for Independent Theater Hungary and critic for Színház Magazine, and Márton Illés explore questions for theatremakers to ask themselves before portraying Roma communities on stage to ensure authentic representation. 

A group of performers hang in small hammocks onstage.
Should We Write Differently About Roma Theatre?
Essay

Should We Write Differently About Roma Theatre?

25 March 2024

Noémi Herczog, theatre critic and scholar based in Hungary and Romania, explores the question of how critics should be writing about Roma theatre. Should they take the social position of the Roma into account, or write purely about the art itself?   

Poster image for the Roma Heroes Theatre Festival.
A Roundtable Discussion on Roma Heroes International Theater Festival, Sixth Edition
Video

A Roundtable Discussion on Roma Heroes International Theater Festival, Sixth Edition

Presented by the Independent Theater Hungary

Thursday 28 March 2024

Following a week-long screening of the Roma Heroes International Theater Festival, Sixth Edition, join us for a livestreamed conversation on the featured pieces with the Independent Theater Hungary. Find out more about the individual projects featured in the Roma Heroes International Theater Festival.

Poster for the Roma Heroes Festival.
Roma Heroes International Theater Festival, Sixth Edition
Video

Roma Heroes International Theater Festival, Sixth Edition

Presented by the Independent Theater Hungary

Wednesday 20 March - Wednesday 27 March

Independent Theater Hungary presents the Roma Heroes International Theater Festival, Sixth Edition, livestreaming on the commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Wednesday 20 March to Wednesday 27 March 2024 at 11 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7) / 1 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 2 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 18:00 GMT (London, UTC +1) / 19:00 CET (Budapest, UTC +1) / 20:00 EET (Bucharest, UTC +2).

Independent Theatre Hungary AAPAC Workshop Event Poster
Minorities (Self)Representation in Theatre
Video

Minorities (Self)Representation in Theatre

Independent Theatre Hungary, Eötvös Loránd University, and Színház Magazine invite you to join a roundtable discussion with the Asian American Performers Action Coalition (AAPAC). 

Thursday 30 November 2023
Budapest, Hungary

Independent Theatre Hungary, Eötvös Loránd University, and Színház Magazine held a roundtable discussion with the Asian American Performers Action Coalition (AAPAC) who shared their experiences related to ethnic minority representation in the American theatre scene and presented the findings of their Visibility Reports: Racial Representation on New York City Stages. 

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Series are collections of content curated around a specific theme. HowlRound works with curators to develop topical pieces meant to spotlight current events and happenings within the commons.

Subscribe to HowlRound

Sign up for our daily, weekly, or quarterly emails so you never miss the latest theatre conversations.

Sign me up

Supporting HowlRound

We fundraise to keep all our programs free and open and to pay our contributors. Thank you to all who make our work possible!

Donate today