fbpx Convenings: PROPAGANDA: A Festival Celebrating Russian Voices | HowlRound Theatre Commons
Poster for propoganda.
Panel on Sport and Art in Censored Society at Propaganda: A Festival Celebrating Russian Voices at Cooper Union
Video

Panel on Sport and Art in Censored Society at Propaganda: A Festival Celebrating Russian Voices at Cooper Union

Sunday 19 January 2014
New York, NY, United States

Sport and Art in Censored Society was the closing panel of PROPAGANDA: A Festival Celebrating Russian Voices livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 19 January at 3:15 p.m. PST/ 5:15 p.m. CST/ 6:15 p.m. EST/ 23:15 GMT. Use #propfest2014 and #howlround to tweet in your questions!

Propoganda logo.
Being a Jester
Essay

Being a Jester

15 January 2014

Utilizing the theatrical convention of the Jester, Daria Wilke explores the suppresion of homeosexuality in reflection of the jester’s inner freedom.

Propoganda logo.
On Russian Freedom
Essay

On Russian Freedom

Vladimir Nabokov and the Spirit of Play

14 January 2014

Nobokov’s thinking about absolute freedom included the notion that there could be no play without competition. It is critical to think about the lack of play induced by Putin’s “traditional Russian values.”

Propoganda logo.
Sochi 2014
Essay

Sochi 2014

The Making Of

13 January 2014

Tess Berry-Hart struggles to find stories for a documentary theater play on same sex couples in Russia. Some stories were sad, many appalling, others funny, but most of them spoke of one thing in common for the future: hope.

Poster for propoganda.
Sport and Performance in Sochi
Essay

Sport and Performance in Sochi

12 January 2014

In this installation of PROPAGANDA: A Festival Celebrating Russian Voices, Lauren Keating addresses the Russian government passing the Anti-Propaganda Bill and the responses it has garnered.