The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presents Create NYC: A Symposium and Town Hall livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday, March 22 all day beginning at 2:00 p.m. EST (New York) / 1:00 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 11:00 a.m. PST (Los Angeles).

In Twitter, follow @howlroundtv and @segalcenter, and use #howlround to share your thoughts.

The Segal Center is partnering with New York arts and culture organizations to host a day of outreach, engagement, and strategy towards the creation of a new cultural plan for New York.

The all-day symposium features morning breakout sessions around themes and ideas generated from a series of breakfasts and meetings between cultural workers and organizations over many months leading up to this event.

The afternoon program features short presentations of direct proposals to the planning consultants, followed by an evening with short manifestos from NY arts organizations and a Town Hall discussion. In partnership with The Field, One Percent for Culture, Center for Arts Education, Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian, and Gibney Dance, the initiative grew out of the Cultural Agenda Fund’s efforts to supplement the official planning process conducted by the city and is supported by the New York Community Trust. This Create NYC event was organized by the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center, Brad Burgess and Frank Hentschker in close collaboration with The Field, One Percent for Culture, Center for Arts Education, Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian, and Gibney Dance.

Visit www.CreateNYC.org to learn more about the NYC Cultural plan and the work of the Hester Street Collaborative.

Schedule:

Presentations of Proposals for New York City Cultural Plan by participants of Create NYC Symposium
2:00 p.m. EST / 1:00 p.m. CST / 11:00 a.m. PST

Manifestos from Arts Organizations, Town Hall
6:30 p.m. EST / 5:30 p.m. CST / 3:30 p.m. PST

Invited are:
The Actors Fund
Amerinda
A.R.T. / New York
ArtsPool
Asian American Arts Alliance
BAAD
Catalyst
FAB
The Indie Theater Fund
Staten Island Arts Council
TCG: Theatre Communications Group
LITNY
NET
The New Black Fest
NYIT
Peoplmovr
Martin E. Segal Theatre Center
all CIGs, CEGs,
and more TBC.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com, or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming