Santiago a Mil International Festival 2017 in Santiago, Chile presents two conversations during its presenters' week with the theme of Latin America Today livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Tuesday, January 17 and Thursday, January 19.

On Twitter, follow @HowlRoundTV and @fundteatroamil, and use hashtags #STGOaMIL, #cafeonda, and #howlround.

Platea is the Santiago a Mil Festival’s presenters' week, where Chilean and Latin American creators come together with producers and cultural consultants from all over the world to promote and help diffuse performing arts at a global level. For six days, more than 200 professionals will come together to see plays with an international projection and to exchange ideas, create networks and come up with new projects through activities whose main theme this year is Latin America Today. The program includes a series of talks, work sessions and business meetings whose aim is to promote artistic residencies, the touring of plays and productions and co-productions.

Livestream Schedule:

Panel and Debate: Latinoamérica Hoy
3:30pm-5pm CLST (Santiago) / 1:30pm-3pm EST (New York) / 12:30pm-2pm CST (Chicago) / 10:30am-12pm PST (Los Angeles) / 6:30pm-8pm GMT (London) / 19:30-21:00 CET (Berlin)

Talk by Héctor Ponce (Latin-American theater), Claudia Zapata (Cultural Studies) y Damián Cervantes (Vaca 35’s Director). Modera Mauricio Barría. Discussion on the aesthetic, historical and political aspects that determine the existence of a Latin American theater scene.

ESPAÑOL​: Utilice auriculares o ajuste el balance de sonido de su computadora a la izquierda para escuchar este video en español.​ Ayuda.

ENGLISH: Use headphones or adjust your computer's sound balance to the right in order to listen to this video in English. Help.

 

Presentation: International Training Projects
11:30am-1pm CLST (Santiago) / 9:30am-11am EST (New York) / 8:30am-10am CST (Chicago) / 2:30pm-4pm GMT (London) / 15:30-17:00 CET (Berlin)

Carolina Roa and Alfonso Arenas from the Santiago a Mil Foundation talk about the training programs from institutes such as the Royal Court and the Theater Direction School, as well as the resident artist agreements.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer-produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com, or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming