south coast repertory logo

South Coast Repertory's 17th Annual Pacific Playwrights Festival in Costa Mesa, California presented the panel "What is the Role of the Playwright?" livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 27 April at 9 a.m. PDT/ 11 a.m. CDT/ 12 p.m. EDT/ 16:00 GMT / 5 p.m. BST/ 6 p.m. CEST. In Twitter, use #howlround & @SouthCoastRep.

Julie Marie Myatt is the Playwright-in-Residence at South Coast Repertory  through the National Playwright Residency Program, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Find out more about her residency experience here and learn about the impact of the program at large here

Julie Marie Myatt, South Coast Repertory’s Mellon Playwright in Residence, will moderate a conversation with many of this year’s festival playwrights. Join us as Julie investigates what it means to be a playwright in America today. What keeps these playwrights writing? What inspired these plays?

Panelist include this year’s festival playwrights:

Rachel Bonds
Eliza Clark
Rajiv Joseph
Adam Rapp
Theresa Rebeck

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.