Julie Marie Myatt at South Coast Repertory

Playwright

Julie Marie Myatt is The Andrew W. Mellon Playwright in Residence at South Coast Repertory. Her play The Happy Ones premiered at SCR, and won the LA Drama Critic Circle’s Ted Schmitt Award for Outstanding New Play, and her play My Wandering Boy premiered at SCR and was part of the 2007 Pacific Playwrights Festival. Her play Welcome Home, Jenny Sutter premiered at Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and a tour of that production went to the Kennedy Center as part of the Kennedy Center Fund for New American Plays. Someday premiered as part of Cornerstone Theater’s Justice Cycle, Boats On A River premiered at the Guthrie Theater, was a finalist for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, and was recorded for the LA Theatre works radio play series, “The Play’s The Thing.” Her ten-minute play, Mr. and Mrs. premiered at the 2007 Humana Festival. The Sex Habits of American Women was produced by the Guthrie Theater, among others, and premiered at the Magic Theatre. Her work has been developed or seen at Actors Theatre of Louisville, Seattle Rep, Cherry Lane, A.S.K. Theatre Projects, LAByrinth Theater Company, Denver Center Theatre Company, ACT Seattle, Yale Rep, Roundabout Theatre, among others. She received a Walt Disney Studios Screenwriting Fellowship, a Jerome Fellowship at the Playwrights’ Center, and a McKnight Advancement Grant. She is an alumni of New Dramatists. View, edit or add to her profile on the New Play Map.

Theatre

South Coast Repertory was founded in the belief that theater is an artform with a unique power to illuminate the human experience. We commit ourselves to exploring the most urgent human and social issues of our time, and to merging literature, design, and performance in ways that test the bounds of theater's artistic possibilities. We undertake to advance the art of theater in the service of our community, and aim to extend that service through educational, intercultural, and outreach programs that harmonize with our artistic mission. View, edit or add to their profile on the New Play Map.

More from the Residency

Reflections on a Residency
Essay

Reflections on a Residency

Julie Marie Myatt at South Coast Rep

25 March 2016

Joel Veenstra discusses the impact of Julie Marie Myatt’s recently-completed residency at South Coast Repertory.

Resident Playwrights in Conversation
Essay

Resident Playwrights in Conversation

José Cruz González and Julie Marie Myatt

21 April 2014

Playwrights Julie Marie Myatt and José Cruz González discuss South Coast Repertory's Dialogue/Diálogos project, which features the stories of more than 700 residents of the Santa Ana community.

Playwrights Panel Who do you write for? at the 18th Annual Pacific Playwrights Festival at South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa—Sunday 26 April 2015
Video

Playwrights Panel Who do you write for? at the 18th Annual Pacific Playwrights Festival at South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa—Sunday 26 April 2015

South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa, California presented the playwrights panel Who Do You Write For? livestreamed on Sunday 26 April at 9 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12 p.m. EDT (New York) / 16:00 GMT / 5 p.m. BST (London). In Twitter, use #howlround.

What is the Role of the Playwright? conversation at South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa—Sunday 27 April 2014
Video

What is the Role of the Playwright? conversation at South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa—Sunday 27 April 2014

South Coast Repertory's 17th Annual Pacific Playwrights Festival in Costa Mesa, California presented the panel "What is the Role of the Playwright?" livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 27 April at 9 a.m. PDT/ 11 a.m. CDT/ 12 p.m. EDT/ 16:00 GMT / 5 p.m. BST/ 6 p.m. CEST. 

Pacific Playwrights Festival Panel Why This Play, Now? at South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa—Sunday 28 April 2013
Video

Pacific Playwrights Festival Panel Why This Play, Now? at South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa—Sunday 28 April 2013

South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa, California presented a new addition to the 16th annual Pacific Playwrights Festival: a playwrights' panel delving into the question “Why this play, now?” livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 28 April 2013 at 9:30 a.m.-10:15 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 11:30 a.m.-12:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12:30 p.m.-1:15 p.m. EDT (New York) / 16:30-17:15 GMT / 5:30 p.m.-6:15 p.m. BST (London).