Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page 3 December 2016 5:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 2:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles).

New York City, NY, United States
3 December 2016

The 2016 Latinx Theatre Commons (LTC) New York City Convening

3 December 2016

 

Thumbnail

The Latinx Theatre Commons (LTC) presented the 2016 LTC New York City Convening, celebrating the vibrant history and exciting future of Latinx theatre in NYC, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 1 December to Saturday 3 December 2016. Use #LTCnewyorkcity and #cafeonda to be a part of the conversation.

The 2016 LTC New York City Convening will take place at nine Latina/o and allied theatres across the city, including The Public Theater, Pregones/Puerto Rican Traveling Theater, the Alliance of Resident Theatres/New York, the Clemente Soto Vélez Cultural and Educational Center, Teatro Círculo, INTAR, Repertorio Español, Teatro SEA, and the Lark.

The convening will gather 175 Latinx theatre artists, scholars, administrators, and advocates, along with other stakeholders in the New York City theatre community for four days of conversations, networking, panels, performances, and parties as they discuss aesthetics, identity, and intergenerational leadership. Several sessions during the convening will be livestreamed on HowlRound TV at howlround.tv, and we hope you'll join us. 

 

Livestream Schedule:

 

Thursday 1 December
Opening Ceremonies
5:30 p.m.-6:45 p.m. EST (New York) / 2:30 p.m.-3:45 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)

Join us for the Opening Ceremonies of the 2016 LTC New York City Convening. We will hear from two keynote speakers, Rosalba Rolón and Stephanie Ybarra, as they set the stage for this convening and infuse us all with a spirit of generosity and abundance. 

Friday, December 2
Being a Change Agent, Part 1

10 a.m.-11:30 a.m. EST (New York) / 7 a.m.-8:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles)

 

As a vibrant community, how do we harness our collective energy towards action as we witness a country undergoing massive change? How do we leverage our power as individuals for the greater good of our work in the field? How do we lift each other up and allow a spirit of generosity to animate all of our work as Latinx theatremakers? In this session, we will attempt to unpack these critical questions and examine the key elements of leadership in our field. 

Latinx Theatre: Making a Difference
12 p.m.-1:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 9 a.m.-10:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles)

 

What is considered a Latinx play? Is it the artists? The narratives? The politics? The aesthetics? And what happens when the work doesn't fit in any one "menu?" This long-table format discussion will present a selection of subjects and frameworks as we unpack how political and social concerns inform new aesthetics and the transference of our voices on stage. Session will begin with a moderated panel of guests and participants will be invited to join the open public forum and add to the new hope and future adventures of Latinx Theatre.

 

Town Hall #1: Igniting the Spark
3:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 12:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)

 

Every creation of art, every initiative, every movement begins with an idea, a spark. What is the catalyst that ignites the spark? What is the need that these ideas seek to address? How do these ideas translate into action? This session begins with a talk from Dr. Maribel Álvarez about the impact of the Latinx community NOW, followed by a facilitated group conversation that celebrates those initial sparks that have led to action in our Latinx theatre community and investigates the impact that each one of us can have and has had in the field.

Saturday 3 December
Learning Session: Repertorio Español

10 a.m.-11:15 a.m. EST (New York) / 7 a.m.-8:15 a.m. PST (Los Angeles):

 

Conveners will spend their Saturday learning from and working with one of New York City's most established Latina/o/x theatre companies: Repertorio Español. The morning will start with a one hour session about the company and their unique methodologies with artistic leaders from the company. This session will be presented in a combination of English and Spanish.

Town Hall #2​ Beyond Success: On Impact and Paying it Forward
5 p.m.-7 p.m. EST (New York) / 2 p.m.-4 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)

 

As New York based artists, we've all heard the age old expression "If I can make it there, I'll make it anywhere," but what does it mean to "make it?" How do we define success? How is it defined for us? And what is the relationship between success and impact? This talk show-esque panel will celebrate the success and impact of Latinx artists within the field and our communities, while also asking "how do we pay it forward?" Participants will be invited to utilize social media throughout and interact in a variety of ways.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark