Event Has Passed

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble presented conversations from their Neurodiversity Matters Conference 2021 livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 16 April and Saturday 17 April 2021.

United States
Friday 16 April and Saturday 17 April 2021

Conversations from the Neurodiversity Matters Conference 2021

Featuring experts and artists from around the country discussing important neurodivergent issues

Friday 16 April and Saturday 17 April 2021

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble presented conversations from the Neurodiversity Matters Conference 2021 livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 16 April and Saturday 17 April 2021.

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble (STE) is proud to announce its second Neurodiversity Matters Conference. The Conference will feature experts and artists from around the country discussing important neurodivergent issues. STE’s goal for the Conference is to spread awareness, destigmatize neurodivergence, and increase disability inclusion in society.

“Last year we created the Neurodiversity Matters Conference as we needed to pivot our planned programming online,” states Teddy Lytle, Associate Artistic Director of Spectrum Theatre Ensemble, who is organizing the event this year. “It turned out to be incredibly effective in engaging people across the country, educating the general populous about neurodiverse inclusion in the arts, and spreading awareness about current neurodivergent issues in society.”

Friday 16 April

 

The Many Definitions of Neurodiversity, Neurodivergence, & Inclusion
2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 5 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Intersectionality of Black, Indigenous, People of Color & Disability
4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 7 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Saturday 17 April

 

Intersectionality of LGBTQ & Disability
2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 5 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Want to see more? The full conference will be free to stream through STE’s Facebook and Youtube channels.

Topics this year include The Many Definitions of Neurodiversity, Neurodivergence, & Inclusion; Spectrum Parenting & Parenting someone on the Spectrum; as well as, an online 10-minute play reading A Simulation of the Mundane Bedlam that is Sensory Overload by Charles L. Hughes.

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble is a 501(c)3 organization located in Providence, Rhode Island. STE's mission is to evolve the awareness, resources, and professionals that empower our neurodiverse community in achieving equal opportunity and full participation in society. More information about STE can be found at their website.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First