Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page from Saturday 9 June to Thursday 13 June 2019.

Mexico City
Sunday 9 June to Thursday 13 June 2019

Encuentro 2019 hosted by the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics

The World Inside Out: Humor, Noise, and Performance

Sunday 9 June to Thursday 13 June 2019
Thumbnail

ESPAÑOL​: Utilice auriculares o ajuste el balance de sonido de su computadora a la izquierda para escuchar este video en español.​ Ayuda.

Thumbnail

ENGLISH: Use headphones or adjust your computer's sound balance to the right in order to listen to this video in English. Help.

 

The Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics at New York University presented events from their Encuentro 2019 livestreaming from Mexico City on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Sunday 9 June to Thursday 13 June 2019.

In the face of increasing inequality, rising authoritarianism and violence, and ongoing threats to democratic institutions, we seek to forge spaces of critical practice and creative inquiry to theorize and instrumentalize satire, humor, laughter, music, and noise in their broadest senses in order make visible, unfold, denounce, fracture, and revert the assemblages of power behind these alarming processes. As we also celebrate liberatory and democratizing victories big and small, we propose to confront both our outrage and our collective hopes by mobilizing art, action, and critique that—through aesthetic inversion, mockery, critical pirouettes, noisy denunciation, and strident celebration—can reveal, disarm, and decolonize and, at the same time, give meaning to our desires for better futures.

pink flyer for the hemispheric institute 2019

 

Sunday 9 June

Keynote Address  /  Ponencia Magistral
2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. PDT (Tijuana, UTC-7) / 4:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC - 5) / 5:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 21:00 - 22:30 UTC+0 
Add to calendar

Antonio Prieto Stambaugh: The Mutant Sponge from Estridentópolis / La Esponja Mutante de Estridentópolis
Presentation  /  Presentación

Monday 10 June

Keynote  /  Conferencia Magistral  
12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. PDT (Tijuana, UTC-7) / 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 19:00 - 20:30 UTC+0
Location / Lugar:  Auditorios Ricardo Flores Magón y Juan Pablo González Casanova, Facultad de Ciencias Políticas y Sociales, UNAM
Add to calendar

Jesusa Rodríguez: The Magic of Power” The enigma of the 4T /  "La Magia del poder” El enigma de la 4T
Presentation  /  Presentación:  Diana Taylor

Roundtable  /  Mesa redonda
3:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 4:45 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 20:45 - 22:00 UTC+0
Location / Lugar: Auditorios Ricardo Flores Magón y Juan Pablo González Casanova, Facultad de Ciencias Políticas y Sociales, UNAM
Add to calendar

The Political Lives of Humor / Las vidas políticas del humor
Presentation  / Presentación:  Stephen Duncombe, Danielle Roper, Miroslava Salcido, Ricardo Domínguez, Diana Raznovich
Moderator  /  Moderador: Diana Taylor 

Tuesday 11 June

La Pocha Nostra
4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. PDT (Tijuana, UTC-7) 6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 7:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 23:00 Tuesday 11 June - 00:30 Wednesday 12 June UTC+0
Lugares / Locations: Auditorio MUAC, UNAM 
Add to calendar

La Pocha Nostra (Guillermo Gómez-Peña, Balitronica Gómez, & Saúl García-López)
An evening with La Pocha Nostra at the MUAC / Una Noche con La Pocha Nostra en el MUAC
Location / Lugar: Auditorio MUAC, UNAM 

Wednesday 12 June

Keynote Address / Conferencia Magistral
4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. PDT (Tijuana, UTC-7) 6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 7:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 23:00 Tuesday 11 June - 00:30 Wednesday 12 June UTC+0
Location / Lugar: Teatro Juan Ruiz de Alarcón, UNAM
Add to calendar

Richard Schechner: "If Comedy is Divine, Why Do Inferno and Purgatory Come Before Paradise?" /Si la Comedia es Divina, ¿por qué el Infierno y el Purgatorio vienen antes del Paraíso?” 
Presentation  / Presentación:  Didanwy Kent Trejo

Thursday 13 June

Keynote Address / Conferencia Magistral
4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. PDT (Tijuana, UTC-7) 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 7:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 23:30 Tuesday 11 June - 01:30 Wednesday 12 June UTC+0
Location / Lugar: Sala Nezahualcóyotl, UNAM
Add to calendar

Judith Butler
Out of Breath: Laughing, Crying at the Body's Limit / Sin aliento: riendo, llorando al límite del cuerpo
Presentation  /  Presentación:  Angélica Cuéllar Vázquez & Benjamín Arditi

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First