Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Monday 26 October 2015 11 a.m. EDT (New York) / 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT (London).

New York, NY, United States
Monday 26 October 2015

The launch of ArtChangeUS: Arts in a Changing America

Produced With
Monday 26 October 2015

 

Thumbnail

ArtChangeUS: Arts in a Changing America presented its launch event livestreamed on the global, commons based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 26 October. 

In Twitter, use hashtags #ArtChangeUS and #HowlRound. Follow @ArtChangeUS and @HowlRoundTV.

ArtChangeUS: Arts in a Changing America is a new, five-year initiative that seeks to explore and understand the dramatic demographic transformation of the United States and its profound impact on arts and culture. This effort, led by Roberta Uno and based out of the California Institute of the Arts, is creating a vast network of relevant organizations, artists, scholars, idea producers, and resource people across sectors to reframe the national arts conversation at the intersection of arts and social justice. Through a carefully curated series of special events, performances, presentations and conferences, ArtChangeUS will serve as an urgently needed catalyst that brings unheard, leadership voices in the arts to the forefront of social discourse, arts production, and community change.

ArtChangeUS’s goals embed the project at the nexus of arts and social equity. They are to:

  • Reframe the arts conversation to understand and respond to the cultural assets of demographic change;
  • Catalyze and make visible relevant, innovative artistic work and forward thinking arts practices;
  • Create opportunities for artists, organizers, and thinkers to connect across sectors in order to introduce new perspectives and collaborative possibilities.

ArtChangeUS has two primary programs:

  • ArtChangeUS Remap is a major high visibility gathering on arts and changing demographics, its pilot program will launch October 26th, 2015 at the Ford Foundation, New York City.
  • ArtChangeUS@, is a series of curated, ongoing performances/talks/workshops/interventions at arts and non-arts organizations throughout the United States.

 

Livestream Schedule for Monday 26 October 2015:

Watch here at howlround.tv —

 

1) Welcome and Launch at 11 a.m. EDT (New York) / 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT (London)

  • Darren Walker, President, Ford Foundation
  • Steven Lavine, President, California Institute of the Arts
  • Roberta Uno, Director, Arts In a Changing America, Cal Arts

2) Call and Response—The Call: Who We Be: The Colorization of America by author Jeff Chang at 11:30 a.m.-11:50 a.m. (New York) / 10:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. (Chicago) / 8:30 a.m.-8:50 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:30-15:50 GMT (London)

Over the past half century, the U.S. has been profoundly reshaped by demographic and cultural change. We remain plunged into endless culture wars. Yet everywhere people are imagining and creating futures of exchange, justice, and equity. In this call-and-response, we hope to uplift ideas and examples of how we move forward in our lives and in the communities we share.

3) The Response at 11:50 a.m.-12:40 p.m. EDT (New York) / 10:50 a.m.-11:40 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8:50 a.m.-9:40 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:50-16:40 GMT (London).   

  • adrienne maree-brown (Octavia’s Brood, Detroit),
  • Edwin Torres (Acting Commissioner, NYC Department of Cultural Affairs),
  • Dr. Uma Mysorekar (The Hindu Temple Society of North America, Flushing, NYC)
  • Ty Defoe (Ojibwe/Waswagoning and Oneida/Onʌyoteˀa·ká Nations, NYC)
  • Raquel de Anda and Gan Golan (People’s Climate Arts Collective, NYC)

Interlocutor, Danielle Jackson (Bronx Documentary Center)

4) Intro to Lunch Break-Outs by Architect Teddy Cruz at 12:45 p.m.-1 p.m. EDT (New York) / 11:45 a.m.-12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:45 a.m.-10 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 16:45-17:00 GMT (London)

5) Performance by Martha Redbone Band, excerpts from Bone Hill at 1:05 p.m.1:15 p.m. EDT (New York) / 12:05 p.m.-12:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:05 a.m.-10:15 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 17:05-17:15 GMT (London)

 

6) Roundtable—Shifting The Paradigm On Race at 3:45 p.m.–4:55 p.m. EDT (New York) / 2:45 p.m.-3:55 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12:45 p.m.-1:55 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 19:45-20:55 GMT (London). 

In a time of widening racial inequality and unbridled, divisive political offensives, racial justice movements are growing methods and constituencies that redefine a just society. How do we think beyond merely the management of diversity, inclusion, and representation, and move towards equity, desegregation, and transformation?

The roundtable will begin with Liz Medicine Crow, president of First Alaskans Institute in conversation with visual artist Favianna Rodriguez. They will be joined by Jose Antonio Vargas, film maker of the new MTV documentary White People; playwright Keith Josef Adkins, co-founder of the New Black Fest, and Eleanor Savage, senior program officer of the Jerome Foundation and member of the Grantmakers in the Arts Racial Equity Forum.

7) What’s Next? by Roberta Uno and members of the 2016 ArtChangeUS ReMap planning team at 5 p.m. EDT (New York) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 2 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 21:00 GMT (London). 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First