fbpx The National Performance Network Annual Meeting | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 12 December to Monday 14 December 9 a.m. PST (Portland, Oregon) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 12 p.m. EST (New York).

Portland, OR, United States
Saturday 12 December to Monday 14 December 2015

Add to Calendar

The National Performance Network Annual Meeting

Saturday 12 December to Monday 14 December 2015

 

Thumbnail

The National Performance Network Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 12 December to Monday 14 December. 

To participate in conversation, direct your comments on Twitter to @NPN_VAN and use hashtag #AMPortland. Find the Facebook page here.

Livestream Schedule:

Saturday 12 December:

Opening Session: Where & Who We Are
9 a.m.-12 p.m. PST (Portland, Oregon) / 11 a.m.-2 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 12 p.m.-3 p.m. EST (New York)

9:15 a.m. PST Annual Meeting Welcome from the NPN/VAN Board

9:30 a.m. PST Where We Are
Featuring Demian DinéYazhi’, Artist/Curator, One Flaming Arrow Festival and Founder/Director of the artist/activist/warrior collective, RISE: Radical Indigenous Survivance & Empowerment and Shilo George, Visual Artist/Educator, The Fat Femme Warrior Regalia Project.

9:45 a.m. PST MK Wegmann, NPN/VAN President & CEO

10:15 a.m. PST ArtBurstVincent E. Thomas/VTDance, Baltimore, MD Flirt (a working process)
Love notes from back in the day to this very moment...yes, love is a many-spendored thing. In this flirtatious, light-hearted solo, Vincent takes his inspiration from who’s next to him, in a spontaneous physical love note. The music is Marvin Gaye’s “Pride & Joy” which will be part of the new evening length work What’s Going On.

10:25 a.m. PST Who We Are
Alright, y’all, it’s time for the NPN/VAN shout-outs. Be ready to tell it like you are! Emcee artists Kristina Wong and Dahlak Brathwaite have bravely stepped up to the challenge of moving everyone through this entertaining and informative exercise.

 

 

11:30 a.m. PST Kristy Edmunds, Keynote

Kristy Edmunds

Executive and Artistic Director, 
Center for the Art of Performance at UCLA

As an artist, curator, artistic director, and frequent consultant internationally, Kristy Edmunds holds a reputation for innovation and depth in the presentation of contemporary art in all disciplines, with a particular emphasis on contemporary performing arts. Her expertise and professional relationships with some of the masters of the 20th and 21st Century performing artists—and critical innovators in all artistic disciplines—has given her a depth of knowledge across a diversity of art forms. In her current position as Executive & Artistic Director of UCLA’s Center for the Art of Performance (CAP UCLA), Edmunds is shepherding this new creative habitat for supporting artists and presenting their work. Edmunds was the Founding Executive & Artistic Director of PICA and the TBA Festival (Time Based Art) in Portland.

 

 
2 p.m. PST: Idea Forum: Contemporary Native American Artists: Issues and Trends
Moderator: Lulani Arquette, Executive Director, Native Arts and Culture Foundation
Participants: Deana Dartt, Curator of Native American Art, Portland Art Museum
Christopher Morgan, Dancer, Choreographer, and Artistic Director, Christopher K. Morgan & Artists
Wendy Redstar, Visual Artist
Rosy Simas, Dancer and Choreographer
 
Panelists will discuss how they perceive and imagine indigeneity today and how that is reflected in their work. They will also address trends and issues facing native contemporary artists.

 

 

Live & On Stage
8-10 p.m. PST (Portland, Oregon) / 10pm-12am CST (Chicago) / 11pm-1am EST (New York)
Our goals for the “Live & On Stage” performances include sharing finished work in which NPN has invested, sharing the work of local artists, and increasing opportunities for artists’ work to be seen.

Featured Artists:

Portland-based Artists:

The Clothesline Muse and Suniti Dernovsek / Holland Andrew

 

Pepper Pepper

 

Opposing Forces

 

 

Sunday 13 December

9:00 a.m. PST In the Works, Portland, OR 
Find out what NPN artists are working on, and what they need!

9:30 a.m. PST ArtBurst: Edna Vazquez, Portland, OR
Edna Vazquez is a Mexican singer-songwriter whose original music takes listeners on a journey through the rhythms of Latin America as only experienced through her spirit. With songs deeply rooted in human emotion, she has traveled far and wide to spread her message of light, love, and cultural healing.

10:50 a.m. PST ArtBurst: Philip Elson, The Seldoms, Chicago, IL Power Goes (excerpt)
In Power Goes, The Seldoms turn to the legacy of President Lyndon Baines Johnson and the tumultuous era of the 1960s to ask how power is wielded to make or stop social change. A dance theater work about which the Chicago Tribune wrote “see it more than once,” Power Goes was made with NPN Creation Fund/Forth Fund support, and a NEFA National Dance Project Production Grant with touring subsidies available.

 

 

Live & On Stage
3-5 p.m. PST (Portland, Oregon) / 5 p.m.-7 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 6 p.m.-8 p.m. EST (New York)
Our goals for the “Live & On Stage” performances include sharing finished work in which NPN has invested, sharing the work of local artists, and increasing opportunities for artists’ work to be seen.

Featured Artists:

Portland-based Artists:

 

 

Monday 14 December

Where We're Headed: 
9-9:30 a.m. PST  Kristy Edmunds
, Executive and Artistic Director Center for the Art of Performance at UCLA
We begin this morning with a deeper understanding of where we are, and went on to each of us claiming who we are. This session will turn the key in the ignition, and help guide us to think about where we’re headed.

 9:30 a.m. PST ArtBurst: Dahlak Brathwaite, San Francisco, CA Spiritrials (excerpt)
In Spiritrials, addiction, religion, and the law intersect in a court-ordered drug rehabilitation program. An “anonymous” narrator shifts in and out of four program participants as he examines his own place in what appears to be a cultural rite of passage.

10:20 a.m. ArtBurst Karen Anzoategui, Los Angeles, CA ¡Ser! (excerpt)
¡Ser! is a coming-of-age queer transnational, latinx/xicana/o story told through the politics of a soccer game. ¡Ser! is usually underscored with original music; this excerpt is part of the original song, “Here I Am” that ends the performance.

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email [email protected], or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First