Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Friday, June 14 - 17 at 9:30am HAST / 12:30pm PDT / 2:30pm CDT / 3:30pm EDT

Honolulu, HI, United States
Friday, June 14 - 17 2013

Add to Calendar

Network of Ensemble Theaters' MicroFest USA: Honolulu National Summit

Friday, June 14 - 17 2013

 

Thumbnail

 

Network of Ensemble Theaters presents MicroFest USA: Honolulu National Summit and Learning Exchange livestreaming on HowlRound TV.

Sunrise and sunset performances, graffiti artists, pre-school children, stories of volcanoes and radical arts-based political action—the MicroFest USA National Summit & Learning Exchange will lead you on a journey across the island of Oahu. Beginning in Honolulu, we will explore this urban environment, bridging the local and national through performances and conversations that address the impact of art and artists in revitalizing communities. For the second part of our MicroFest journey, we will retreat to the rural North Shore for reflection and sharing.
 
This National Summit & Learning Exchange is the culmination of the four-part, five-city MicroFest USA: Revitalize, Reconnect, Renew asking: “How does art impact your community?”. Bridging local and national artists, we will weave together the themes and conversations from the previous MicroFests as we share success stories, challenges, inspirations, and questions about art-based community development.
 
To participate online, follow Twitter accounts @NETEnsembles, @HowlRoundTV and communicate with everyone using hashtags #netfests and #newplay in your tweets.
 
Livestreaming schedule (subject to change due to internet connectivity):
 

Friday, June 14 at 9:30am HAST / 12:30pm PDT / 2:30pm CDT / 3:30pm EDT

  • Hawaiian languageThe students of Ke Kula ‘o Samuel M. Kamakau charter school share an excerpt of a Hawaiian language play directed by Tammy Haili‘ōpua Baker from Ka Hālau Hanakeaka. Attendees will get an introduction to basic Hawaiian words and phrases; the history of this endangered language; and a panel discussion with participants from the Mūkīkī Wai nā Mamo o Mānoa (an annual Hawaiian language festival).

Friday, June 14 at 7:30pm HAST / 10:30pm PDT / Saturday, June 15 at 12:30am CDT / 1:30am EDT

  • PerformancesKa Hālau Hanakeaka presents He Mo'olelo Hana Keaka no Māuiakamalo a me Kamapua'a: 'Elua mau me'e Hawai'i (A play of two Hawaiian heroes, Māuiakamalo & Kamapua'a).
  • Honolulu Theater for Youth presents Call It Courage. Ruthlessly bullied, young Mufatu sets out on an epic adventure to find his courage. This world-premiere production set in ancient Polynesia is one of the first and greatest stories of a child finding the hero within.

Saturday, June 15 at 9:30am HAST / 12:30pm PDT / 2:30pm CDT / 3:30pm EDT

Saturday, June 15 at 3:30pm HAST / 6:30pm PDT / 8:30pm CDT / 9:30pm EDT

  • Think-tank dialogue: Participatory discussion focused on reflections, questions of impact, and articulating the various elements of community cultural development.

Saturday, June 15 at 7:30pm HAST (Sun, June 16 at 1:30am EDT)

  • Ho'olaule'a o ka Pāhiahia (A Celebration of the Performing Arts) Featuring a cross-section of national musicians and storytellers, including: Guardians of the Flame, M.U.G.A.B.E.E., Scatter Their Own, and Frank Waln

Sunday, June 16 at 9am HAST / 12pm PDT / 2pm CDT / 3pm EDTSunday, June 16 at 9am HAST / 12pm PDT / 2pm CDT / 3pm EDT

  • Plenary: What role can (and do) private foundations play in creative placemaking efforts? In recent years, foundations have demonstrated an interest in boosting creative placemaking efforts, thus supporting revitalization projects around the country. What can we learn from these efforts?  What are the successes and challenges of private and public collaborations? What role do community members have in these projects? What happens to the communities when the funding stops? These and other questions will be discussed.

Sunday, June 16 at 10:45am HAST / 1:45pm PDT / 3:45pm CDT / 4:45pm EDT
 

  • Workshop: We the Griot: Performance and Community Healing. Daniel Banks and Adam McKinney from DNAWORKS lead participants to consider what it would mean to live in a society where the artist is seen and valued as the  conduit for community healing and health. Using movement, storytelling, improvisation, writing, group dialogue, song, and games, participants will explore the power of their own experiences and stories as they relate to important issues in their communities.

Monday, June 17 at 10:30am HAST / 1:30pm PDT / 3:30pm CDT / 4:30pm EDT

  • Cornerstone Institute Summer Residency: Ten California Summers and Counting: Paula Donnelly and Nephelie Andonyadis share a case study of the Cornerstone Institute Summer Residency Program, now in its 10th year. The conversation will look back at the past nine cohorts of artists/students, forward to this summer’s community collaboration, and beyond to the California Bridge Tour. The session will also discuss the implementation of the Junction—a virtual creative place that addresses the variations of regionality and the connectivity of a central core—a Commons of the Institute.

Monday, June 17 at 6pm HAST / 9pm PDT / 11pm CDT / Tuesday, June 18 at 12am EDT

  • LuauPA’I Foundation presents a traditional luau. Summit participants share performances that were created over the course of the weekend.

About HowlRound TV:

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

 

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First