Event Has Passed

Saturday-Sunday 13-14 October 2018

Follow @HowlRound and @MITHackingArts and tag #howlround on Twitter for updates.

Saturday-Sunday 13-14 October 2018

Panels from Hacking Arts 2018 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Media Lab

Produced With
Saturday-Sunday 13-14 October 2018

Hacking Arts presented the Hacking Arts 2018 Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday and Sunday 13-14 October.

Saturday 13 October

Welcome and Keynote

Art in the Age of Blockchain
10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. EDT (Boston) / 17:00 UTC +0 / 6 p.m. UTC +1 (London) / 19:00 UTC +2 (Berlin)

From artistic production and distribution to securitisation and authentication, blockchain technology is already changing the way we create and consume visual arts. Learn the basics of the blockchain and hear from the artists and entrepreneurs who are mining its cultural value.

Future of Creative Engagement
1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. EDT (Boston) / 20:00 UTC+0 / 9 p.m. UTC+1 (London) / 22:00 UTC+2 (Berlin)

As technology brings the world closer together, it’s possible for audiences to experience art like never before. Explore how thought leaders in accessible practices are using digital docents, tactile printing, design thinking, and other ideas to cultivate diverse audiences and artists from all walks of life.

Sunday 14 October

Interactive Art and the Modern Day World
6 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 8 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9 a.m. EDT (Boston) / 13:00 UTC+0 / 2 p.m. UTC+1 (London) / 15:00 UTC+2 (Berlin)

The role of the artist has changed dramatically in the digital age, and new tools put creative control in the hands of audiences like never before. Dive into a new artistic landscape with thinkers and tinkerers who are putting users at the center of the map.

Financing Your Artistic Adventure
10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. EDT (Boston) / 17:00 UTC+0 / 6 p.m. UTC+1 (London) / 19:00 UTC+2 (Berlin)

Many artists and artistic organizations face significant financial obstacles, which impedes the growth of their artistic ventures. These obstacles often stem from an over-reliance on unpredictable revenue streams, such as philanthropy and government funding. Join a panel of “artrepreneurs” to uncover how innovative, sustainable financing models are bolstering the new creative economy and the role of impact investing.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First