Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page on Friday 6 December from 6 a.m - 3 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC-6) / 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. EST (New York, UTC-5).

New York City
Friday 6 December 2019

The 2019 PAAL Summit

The first national summit on caregiver support in the performing arts

Friday 6 December 2019

The Parent Artist Advocacy League presented the first PAAL Summit at the Public Theater livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 6 December from 6 a.m - 3 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC-6) / 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. EST (New York, UTC-5).

A transcript of the audio from this event will be available a short time after the Summit.

The PAAL Summit is designed to be a safe and collaborative gathering where decision-makers, leaders, and institution representatives can exchange resources, raise questions, and share experiences in a guided workshop and facilitated conversation with PAAL and participating leaders in diverse fields to expand the collective brain on how to better support parent artists and caregivers in performing arts culture. 

Parent Support is:

  • HR Compliance
  • Discrimination Prevention
  • Necessary for Parity
  • Diversity Sustainability
  • Community Engagement
  • Increased Grant Value
  • Humane Work Flow

AND more affordable than you think...

As part of the workshop and semi-open format with lead facilitators, topics covered will be curated in accordance with attendees’ needs, organization type and size, and concerns. Because of this careful curation, this preliminary application will allow for the workshop to take shape with direct relevance and coverage for as many participants as possible.

Note: Childcare is included for and lactation space being provided to summit participants on-site at both locations and events by Broadway Babysitters.

Each of the morning sessions below will be led by a group of facilitators with significant experience advocating and/or creating protocol for family-friendly practices in their field of expertise. They will support the conversation by sharing their experience and offering best practices, but PAAL intends this to be an open conversation and an opportunity to share wisdom amongst the entire assembled group.

Each streamed session will close the live feed before continuing to provide a safe and confidential space for summit participants to. engage in a final Q & A.

Intro and Summit Session 1: COMPLIANCE: Law, Language, and Best Practices for compliant practices in our field
6 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 8 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC-6) / 9 a.m. EST (New York, UTC-5)

Welcome and Intro to PAAL Framework/Compassion Training
Led by Rachel Spencer Hewitt, Founder, PAAL

COMPLIANCE: Law, Language, and Best Practices for compliant practices in our field
Featuring: Norman Siegal, JD; Kate O'Phalen, AEA Council, MPH Candidate City College; Iris McQuillan Grace, HR Center for Reproductive Rights; Nicole Brewer, Anti-Racist Theatre Training
Session 1, featuring a cross-section of legal and human rights experts in addition to theatre practitioners, will focus on reducing discrimination via our language, practices and policies. It will address PAAL’s Three Tenets to Creating Family-Friendly Policy (and inclusion-focused policy in general): Is it legal? Is it ethical? Is it compassionate?

Session 2: CREATIVITY: Flexibility, Leave Policy, and Supportive Scheduling for humane practices in our field
7:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 9:30 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC-6) / 10:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC-5)

Featuring: Ed Stallsworth, New42, Roberta Pereira, Managing Director, Playwrights Realm; Devon Berkshire, Theatre Communications Group (TCG); Jonathan Schmidt Chapman, TYA/USA; Nicole Brewer, Anti-Racist Theatre Training

Session 2 will offer a broad variety of supportive and productive solutions for organizing work around family. The featured facilitators will share personal experience, in addition to offering tools that have worked in their organizational contexts - both administrative and artistic.

Session 3: COMPENSATION: Budgeting for Childcare, Contingency Planning, and Tracking Success for sustainable practices in our field
8:45 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 10:45 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC-6) / 11:45 a.m. EST (New York, UTC-5)

Featuring: Roberta Pereira, Playwrights Realm; Ari Teplitz, Teplitz Financial; Michael Sag, WP Theatre; Alexandra LaLonde, The TEAM; Libby King, The TEAM; Ariana Smart Truman, Elevator Repair Service

Session 3 will provide examples of flexible budgeting support, boundary creation, and success tracking of compensation as well as alternative support provisions for contributors with caregiver responsibilities.

Session 4: COMMUNITY: engaging with how parent support draws us together to empower diverse communities of people.
10:15 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 12:15 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC-6) / 1:15 p.m. EST (New York, UTC-5)

Featuring: Adriana Gaviria, reporting on Latinx Theatre Commons Convening Miami + PAAL session on caregiver support in the latinx community, as well as Jen Malenke and Leann Gadow of Broadway Babysitters on hiring compliant caregivers, childcare matinees, and how caregiving creates jobs for artists as well.

Key Note Q & A on Motherhood and Leadership with Emily Mann, Artistic Director of McCarter Theatre Center
11 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 1 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC-6) / 2 p.m. EST (New York, UTC-5)

An engaging conversation with Emily Mann, Artistic Director of McCarter Theatre Center on motherhood and leadership, her experiences on the path to artistic director and engagement with support for artistic and administrative contributors. The conversation will be moderated by forthcoming Happy Hour keynote guest Mary Hodges, Assistant Director of Slave Play (Broadway).

PAAL SUMMIT HAPPY HOUR
2:30 p.m PST (San Francisco, UTC-8) / 4:30 p.m. CST (Chicaco, UTC-6) / 5:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC-5)

Community Gathers around Motherhood and Leadership, featuring key note guest Mary Hodges, Assistant Director of Slave Play (Broadway) and other guest artists in performance and presentation

A welcome space for parents an non-parents, children, and friends, the PAAL Summit Happy Hour will allow us to engage in community, networking, conversation, and more. Featuring keynote guest Mary Hodges to share her own experiences and passion for motherhood in leadership as well as guest artists and performances soon to be announced.

Welcome and Introduction

Garlia Cornelia Jones
Line Producer, The Public Theater and recipient of PAAL Childcare Match Grant

Meredith Grundei
Actor, Director; StateraArts Regional Coordinator (NYC); PAAL Ambassador (NYC)

Iris McQuillan-Grace
Managing Director, PAAL

Rachel Spencer Hewitt
Founder, PAAL

Mom Is Not My Real Name, by Tina deVaron, Composer/Lyricist, Singer/Pianist
Performed by: Jennifer Blood and Tina deVaron
Mom Is Not My Real Name is from deVaron’s song cycle in development: THE MOTHERHOOD SONGBOOK

Interview with Mary Hodges, Actor/Director; Assistant Director of Broadway’s Slave Play and PAAL Childcare Match Grant Recipient

Story Circles
Facilitated by: Corinna Schulenburg, Theatre Communications Group & Flux Theatre

Ensemble

Corinna Schulenburg will facilitate a story circle process based on a tradition designed by John O’Neal, founder of the Free Southern Theatre and stewarded by Junebug Productions in New Orleans, LA. The process will allow participants to share brief, personal stories of their experience as parents in the theatre sector with a small group.

Closing
Rachel Spencer Hewitt, Founder, PAAL

 

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First