Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 5 January 2019 at 10:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 9:30 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 7:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 15:30 (London, UTC +0) / 16:30 (Berlin, UTC +1).

New York City
Saturday 5 January 2019

2019 Under the Radar Festival Symposium Coming Attractions, a work sharing session

The Public Theater, New York

Produced With
Saturday 5 January 2019

The 2019 Under the Radar Festival Symposium at The Public Theater in New York presented Coming Attractions—a work sharing session—livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 5 January 2019 at at 10:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 9:30 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 7:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 15:30 (London, UTC +0) / 16:30 (Berlin, UTC +1). 

Coming Attractions is a chance for Under the Radar Festival to share exciting work that is in development with our audiences and Symposium presenters. Hosted by Andrew Kircher, this event has moved from being a pitch session (transactional) to a more open studio approach, where the artist introduces themselves, their past work and that of their collaborators, and shares a bit about the new project (with performance, images, videos, design sketches) while locating the work in its development life. Each artist will have a few minutes to present.

Featuring:

Sister Sylvester: Brecht Forensics: Drinking Brecht
Mimi Lien / Pig Iron: Superterranean
Modesto Flako Jimenez: Taxilandia
Emily Johnson: Being Future Being (working title)
S.J Norman: Take This, For It Is My Body

The Under the Radar Professional Symposium is a pre-conference event of the Association of Performing Arts Professionals (formerly the Association of Performing Arts Presenters) and is held in conjunction with the APAP|NYC conference. APAP is the national service, advocacy and membership organization for presenters of the performing arts and the convener of APAP|NYC, the world’s leading gathering of performing arts professionals, held every January in New York City. For more information on this year’s APAP conference, visit www.apapnyc.org. 

Over the last 15 years, The Public’s Under the Radar Festival has presented over 229 companies from 42 countries. It has grown into a landmark of the New York City theater season and is a vital part of The Public's mission, providing a high-visibility platform to support artists from diverse backgrounds who are redefining the act of making theater. Widely recognized as a premier launching pad for new and cutting-edge performance from the U.S. and abroad, Under the Radar Festival has presented works by such respected artists as Elevator Repair Service, Nature Theater of Oklahoma, Gob Squad, Belarus Free Theatre, Guillermo Calderón, and Young Jean Lee. These artists provide a snapshot of contemporary theater: richly distinct in terms of perspectives, aesthetics, and social practice, and pointing to the future of the art form.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First