fbpx 2022 National Theater Project Regional Convening | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page on Wednesday 9 November and Wednesday 16 November 2022.

New England
Wednesday 9 November and Wednesday 16 November

2022 National Theater Project Regional Convening

Seeking to Build a Better Understanding of the Challenges and Triumphs of Theatremaking in New England

Wednesday 9 November and Wednesday 16 November

The National Theater Project of the New England Foundation for the Arts presented the 2022 National Theater Project Regional Convening in New England livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 9 November and Wednesday 16 November 2022.

The National Theater Project of the New England Foundation for the Arts is delighted to announce the 2022 National Theater Project Regional Convening in New England. Regional convenings are part of NEFA’s effort towards understanding the theatremaking ecology across the nation, with past locations including in Jackson, MS; Phoenix, AZ; Minneapolis/St Paul, MN; and Knoxville, TN. We are excited to resume this practice here with our local community in a hybrid three-day event.

Artists, presenters, producers, service organizations, and philanthropists from across the region are invited to join National Theater Project advisors and staff in a series of panels, group discussions, story sharing, structure analysis, and networking opportunities as we seek to build a better understanding of the challenges and triumphs of theatremaking in New England. Performances from local artists highlighting the aesthetics of the region will be held each day.

Wednesday 9 November 2022

Welcome and Info Session
8 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 10 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 11 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Performance, Q+A (Sageseeker Productions, CT)
9 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 12 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Community Theater vs Theater In/With Community
10 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 12 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 1 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Panelists: Godfrey Simmons, Bronwyn Sims, Jacob Padrón

Performance Q+A (Theater Ensemble of Color, ME)
11:15 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 1:15 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 2:15 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Defining Community Panel + Closing
1 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 3 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 4 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Panelists: Reneé Goddess Johnson, Jarvis Green, Company One Member (TBD), Rhode Island Latino Arts Member (TBD)


Wednesday 16 November 2022

Welcome, Performance, Q+A (Sandglass Theater, VT)
8 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 10 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 11 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Mentorship Pipeline Panel
8:15 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 10:15 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -7) / 11:15 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)
Panelists: Dawn Simmons, Ethan Paulini, Jeanika Browne-Springer, Melissa Kievmann

Performance Q+A (The Haus of Glitter, RI)

Video archive not available.
10:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 12:30 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 1:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Native/Indigenous artist panel
11:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 1:30p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 2:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)
Panelists: Tara Moses, Jasmine Goodspeed, and Quita Sullivan

Performance Q+A (Theatre Kapow, NH)
12:45 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 2:45 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 3:45 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Performance Q+A, Closing (Guerilla Opera, MA)
1:45 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 3:45 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 4:45 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing-arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email [email protected] or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First

Subscribe to HowlRound

Sign up for our daily, weekly, or quarterly emails so you never miss the latest theatre conversations.

Sign me up

Supporting HowlRound

We fundraise to keep all our programs free and open and to pay our contributors. Thank you to all who make our work possible!

Donate today