Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Monday 4 April to Wednesday 6 April 2016 3:30 p.m. MST / 6:30 p.m. EDT

Phoenix, AZ, United States
Monday 4 April to Wednesday 6 April 2016

Add to Calendar

The ArtPlace America Summit on Creative Placemaking

Produced With
Monday 4 April to Wednesday 6 April 2016

 

Thumbnail

ArtPlace America presented the annual ArtPlace Summit in Phoenix, Arizona livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Monday 4 April to Wednesday 6 April.

In Twitter, use #ArtPlaceSummit, and follow @ArtPlaceAmerica and @HowlRoundTV

ArtPlace America is a 10-year project of a number of foundations, federal agencies, and banks dedicated to positioning arts and culture as a core sector of community planning and development. Every year, ArtPlace gathers its grantees and partners in-person to reflect on their work and the path ahead for creative placemaking. This year’s gathering focuses on the set of practices, lines of inquiry, and strategic initiatives needed to help deepen the understanding of what creative placemaking has to offer to communities across the country. Click here for more details, and please join us virtually for this year’s event!

Livestream Schedule:

Monday 4 April:

 

Welcome – 3:30 p.m. MST (6:30 p.m. EDT)

Wellington Reiter, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
Hon. Greg Stanton, City of Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Jonathan Koppell, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
Steven Tepper, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
Lyz Crane, ArtPlace America, Brooklyn, NY
F. Javier Torres, ArtPlace America, Brooklyn, NY

Expanded Approaches to Community Development – 4 p.m. MST (7 p.m. EDT)

Sarah Kavage, Duwamish Revealed, Seattle, WA
Bryan Lee, Youth Solutions, New Orleans, LA
Irfana Noorani, 11th Street Bridge Project, Washington, DC
Rip Rapson, The Kresge Foundation, Troy, MI

 

Creative Placemaking: When Artists are at the Planning Table – 6 p.m. MST (9 p.m. EDT)

Ariella Cohen, Next City, Philadelphia, PA
Amanda Lovelee, City of St. Paul, St. Paul, MN
James Rojas, Urban Planner & Artist, Los Angeles, CA
Jason Schupbach, National Endowment for the Arts Washington, DC

 

Tuesday 5 April

 

Artists Engaged in Public Safety, Housing, and Public Health – 9 a.m. MST (12 p.m. EDT)

Mel Chin, Mel Chin Studio, Egypt, NC
Jorge Ferreira, Alameda County Sheriff’s Office, San Leandro, CA
Elizabeth Hamby, Artist, New York, NY
Sarah Calderon, ArtPlace America, Brooklyn, NY
Jamie Hand, ArtPlace America, Brooklyn, NY

 

Plenary: Spotlight on Arizona – 3 p.m. MST (6 p.m. EDT)

Keith Ashley, Art | Eco: Placemaking Patagonia, Patagonia, AZ
Aaron Cooper, Sonoran Desert Retreat Center & Residencies, Ajo, AZ
Camille Ferguson, Grand Canyon National Park Desert View Intertribal Cultural Heritage Center and Native Artists Program, Grand Canyon, AZ
Jonathan Koppell, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ

 

Wednesday 6 April

 

Closing & Town Hall – 11 a.m. MST (2 p.m. EDT)

Prasad Boradkar, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
Jamie Bennett, ArtPlace America, Brooklyn, NY

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First