fbpx Ashley Chen's Performance of Distances | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreaming on this page on Friday 8 December 2023 at 2:50 p.m. HST (Honolulu, UTC -10) / 3:50 p.m. AKST (Juneau, UTC -9) / 4:50 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 6:50 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 7:50 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5).

United States
Friday 8 December 2023

Ashley Chen's Performance of Distances

Ashley Chen—choreographer, performer, and founder of Kashyl—brings his work to La MaMa as part of Villa Albertine’s 2023 Dance Season.

Friday 8 December 2023
Remote video URL

Ashley Chen—choreographer, performer, and founder of Kashyl—brought his work to La MaMa as part of Villa Albertine’s 2023 Dance Season. 

Distances 

A sisterhood of performers test the outer limits of each other’s personal space, inventing a common ground. Exchanging gestures and songs: a morphing phantasmagorical entity emerges. Performed by students from NYU's Tisch School of the Arts alongside original cast members.

The performance by Compagnie Kashyl received the support of Villa Albertine as part of the Albertine Dance Season.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email [email protected] or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First

Subscribe to HowlRound

Sign up for our daily, weekly, or quarterly emails so you never miss the latest theatre conversations.

Sign me up

Supporting HowlRound

We fundraise to keep all our programs free and open and to pay our contributors. Thank you to all who make our work possible!

Donate today