Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Tuesday 30 June through Saturday 4 July 2020.

Santiago, Chile
Tuesday 30 June to Saturday 4 July 2020

Fundación Teatro a Mil's Sixth National Programmers Meeting: #TeatroHoy

An opportunity to dialogue, strengthen networks, and build collaborations among participating presenters, and between presenters and performing arts professionals

Produced With
Tuesday 30 June to Saturday 4 July 2020

Fundación Teatro a Mil presented the Sixth National Programmers Meeting livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Tuesday 30 June through Saturday 4 July 2020.

Sixth National Programmers Meeting - PLATEA

Fundación Teatro a Mil, organizers of one of the most important performing arts festivals in Latin America, Santiago a Mil International Festival, has for the last 10 years also produced a season called Teatro Hoy (Theater Today), where we present contemporary works by Chilean artists. This year, due to the pandemic, it was transformed into Teatro Hoy online theater.

Within the framework of the Teatro Hoy season, the National Programmers Meeting - PLATEA - is organized. It is an opportunity to dialogue, strengthen networks, and build collaborations among participating presenters, and between presenters and performing arts professionals from various venues, theaters, festivals, institutions, organizations, and artistic groups from all over Chile.

As this year cannot be the exception, this meeting will be held online; and this will allow our international friends and allies to participate.

We invite you to join us from June 30 to July 3rd to be part of this Sixth Chilean National Programmers Meeting - PLATEA. Although the sessions will be conducted in Spanish, with the critical participation of HowlRound we have selected some sessions that will be available with English live captions.

Our goal is to continue conversing, discussing and imagining a future for culture and the performing arts - from Latin America to the world. We hope you can join us!

If you speak Spanish and wish to learn more about the entire event, please visit the following website.

Tuesday 30 June 2020

2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 5 p.m. EDT / CLT (New York, Santiago, UTC -4) / 22:00 BST (London, UTC +1) / 23:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2).

Conversation with Federico Irazábal: Theatre in the Digital Age
Entrevista con Federico Irazábal. Teatro en tiempos digitales

Alfonso Arenas, Coordinator of Education at Teatro a Mil Foundation (Chile) will interview Federico Irazábal, Director of the International Festival of Buenos Aires - FIBA, to talk about the various challenges facing the performing arts in times of digitization.

Thursday 2 July 2020

10:00 a.m. EDT / CLT (New York, Santiago, UTC -4) / 15:00 BST (London, UTC +1) / 16:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2).

Creators Forum
Foro Creadores

The productions that would have been presented during Teatro Hoy had to cancel their premieres and scheduled performances now that all theaters are closed. Teatro Hoy issued these artists an invitation to rethink their work using online platforms and carry out a series of dramatized readings via Zoom. In this forum, creators who were part of the first online Teatro Hoy experiment will tell us about their experience on these new platforms and how they see the return of their projects to live performance. We ask, is touring merely on pause mode, or has it never been so vibrant and on the move?

By clicking on the name of the piece that follows each artist's name, you will be transported to the web-based work each created.

Participants:

3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 6 p.m. EDT / CLT (New York, Santiago, UTC -4)

Interview with Alex Sarián: Communities and artistic mediation in digital times.
Entrevista con Alex Sarián: Comunidades y mediación artística en tiempos digitales

From an analysis of the current situation, Alex Sarián, President, Arts Commons, Calgary, Canada, will talk about challenges in relation to working in communities, the role of mediation and artistic education, and will discuss strategies for the meeting between artists, creators and various audiences that make up the cultural ecosystem.

Friday 3 July 2020

2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 5 p.m. EDT / CLT (New York, Santiago, UTC -4)

Rethinking space. How we imagine the theaters of the future.
Repensar el espacio. Cómo imaginamos los teatros del futuro

Theater Communication Group Board members, Joshua Dachs of Fisher Dachs Associates and John Fontillas of H3, leaders in designing and building performing arts centers and other cultural spaces, will lead a discussion on how architecture and design can address current issues and what the implications are for the future.

Saturday 4 July 2020

11:00 a.m. EDT / CLT (New York, Santiago, UTC -4) / 16:00 BST (London, UTC +1) / 17:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2).

Round Tables. Crossing Networks
Mesas de Conversación. Cruzando Redes

During two earlier sessions, we talked about the now and the future that we want to build in the performing arts sector. In this activity, we will close some points and try to draw some conclusions together with a synopsis provided by Fundación Internacional Teatro a Mil, Founding Director, Carmen Romero.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First