Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 18 April at 7 p.m. EDT (4 p.m. PDT / 23:00 GMT) and then again at 9 p.m. EDT (6 p.m. PDT).

Washington, D.C., United States
Saturday 18 April 2015

Add to Calendar

Generation (Wh)Y: Global Voices on Stage at the Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics

Saturday 18 April 2015

 

Thumbnail

 

 

The Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics and Georgetown University's Department of Performing Arts in Washington, DC presented Generation (Wh)Y: Global Voices on Stage livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 18 April at 7 p.m. EDT (4 p.m. PDT / 23:00 GMT) and then again at 9 p.m. EDT (6 p.m. PDT).

In Twitter, use hashtag #howlround.

Devised and Directed by Rob Jansen with the student ensemble
Assisted by Asif Majid

Join us for an intimate live performance that moves through multiple spaces exploring real experiences from global voices and the poetry of everyday life. This immersive theatrical experience of innovative multi-media performances results from year-long dialogue and encounters between Georgetown students and youth from Egypt, Syria, Afghanistan, Sudan, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Palestine, Qatar, and Iraq. The Generation (Wh)Y devising ensemble has sparked conversations around the world about the hopes, perspectives, and experiences of the next generation.

Generation (Wh)Y is the third event in Myriad Voices: A Cross-Cultural Performance Festival. Myriad Voices is made possible in part by a grant from the Association of Performing Arts Presenters (APAP); Building Bridges: Campus Community Engagement Grants Program, a component of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation and Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art. The festival is also presented in collaboration with the Berkley Center for Religion, Peace & World Affairs, Bridges of Understanding, and the Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark