fbpx Great Plains Theatre Conference | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 25 May 2013 at 10:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12:30 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 17:30 GMT.

Omaha, NB, United States
Saturday 25 May 2013

Add to Calendar

Great Plains Theatre Conference

Saturday 25 May 2013

 

Thumbnail

 

Metropolitan Community College presented the Great Plains Theatre Conference  livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 25 May 2013 at 10:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12:30 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 17:30 GMT. Convert into your local time.

The mission of the Great Plains Theatre Conference at Metropolitan Community College in Omaha, Nebraska, is to enable playwrights and theatre artists to share time, energy, and talent in the service of developing craft, creating new work, and strengthening community on a local and national scale.

The Panel Series is a platform to discuss wide ranging topics that are resonant for those who are making theatre today. The discussions begin with our national guest artists and then open up to the wider community. 

The panelist include: Connie Congdon, Ruth Margraff, Kate Snodgrass, Erik Ehn, David Neumann, Sibyl Kempson, Mac Wellman, Justin Townsend, Eliza Bent, and our young
Design Wing fellows.

Use Twitter hashtag #howlround to participate in conversation:

  • The Triumph, Tragedy, Humor and Humanity of Failure: The politics, aesthetics and fertility of failure illustrated by real occurrences of epic failure. With Sibyl Kempson, Mac Wellman, Connie Congdon, Kate Snodgrass, and moderated by Kevin Lawler

Tuesday 28 May at 11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) /  1 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m. EDT (New York) / 18:00 GMT. Convert into your local time.

  • In Pursuit of a Dark Euphoria: New wildness in imagination, form, collaboration, rehearsal, and production—and the special challenges that this work brings. With David Neumann, Sibyl Kempson, Justin Townsend, and moderated by Eliza Bent

 

Wednesday 29 May at 10:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12:30 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 17:30 GMT. Convert into your local time.

  • Design and the all-important collaboration (of our threatened species): The dreams and anguish of a new generation. With Justin Townsend, The Design Wing, and moderated by Eliza Bent

 

Thursday 30 May at 10:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12:30 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 17:30 GMT. Convert into your local time.

  • T and C: The function and malfunction of theatre in a capitalist/consumer society. With Ruth Margraff, Mac Wellman, Connie Congdon, Kate Snodgrass, Erik Ehn, and moderated by Eliza Bent

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

 

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First