fbpx The Great Plains Theatre Conference Prairie Conversations | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 23 May to Friday 29 May 2015 at 11 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00 GMT / 7 p.m. BST (London).

Omaha, NB, United States
Saturday 23 May to Friday 29 May 2015

Add to Calendar

The Great Plains Theatre Conference Prairie Conversations

Saturday 23 May to Friday 29 May 2015

 

Thumbnail

 

The Great Plains Theatre Conference was pleased to present their 2015 Prairie Conversations Series with talks from Omaha, Nebraska that was livestreamed on global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Saturday 23 May to Friday 29 May. 

The Prairie Conversations Series is a group of open-ended conversations with the national artists gathered at the Great Plains Theatre Conference. The discussions traverse a wide array of topics surrounding how we are making theatre today. Speakers and details below.

To participate in the conversation, tweet @GPTCNebraska and use hashtag #howlround.

2015 GPTC Prairie Conversations

 

The Transition
Saturday 23 May at 11 a.m.-11:45 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m.–1:45 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00-18:45 GMT / 7 p.m.-7:45 p.m. BST (London)

A discussion of the ever-changing dynamics between director and playwright.
Kate Snodgrass, Constance Congdon, and Jane Unger. Moderator: Ron Zank

 

Reverse Zeitgeist Buffet
Sunday 24 May at 11 a.m.-11:45 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m.–1:45 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00-18:45 GMT / 7 p.m.-7:45 p.m. BST (London)

Exploring the intersection between the political and the imagination.
Emma Goldman-Sherman and Kia Corthron. Moderator: Jody McAuliffe

 

 

 

New Design Brain’s Dissected
Monday 25 May at 11 a.m.-11:45 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m.–1:45 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00-18:45 GMT / 7 p.m.-7:45 p.m. BST (London)

An introduction of the Design Wing.
Kip Marsh and the Design Wing. Moderator: Eliza Bent

 

 

 

Community Work
Tuesday 26 May at 11 a.m.-11:45 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m.–1:45 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00-18:45 GMT / 7 p.m.-7:45 p.m. BST (London)

The purpose and method behind the creation of South Omaha Stories.
Kia Corthron, Ruth Margraff, Josh Hecht, and Scott Working. Moderator: Josh Hecht and Scott Working.

 

 

Wild Music
Wednesday 27 May at at 11 a.m.-11:45 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m.–1:45 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00-18:45 GMT / 7 p.m.-7:45 p.m. BST (London)

A discussion of emerging uses of music in the development and production of plays.
Ruth Margraff, Mark Bruckner, Mary Beth Easley. Moderator: Mary Beth Easley

 

 

Contemporaries Transforming the Classics
Thursday 28 May at 11 a.m.-11:45 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m.–1:45 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00-18:45 GMT / 7 p.m.-7:45 p.m. BST (London)

Two contemporary playwrights discussing some modern takes on classical theatre.
Constance Congdon and Doug Wright. Moderators: Doug Wright and Constance Congdon

 

 

Listening Well
Friday 29 May at at 11 a.m.-11:45 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1 p.m.–1:45 p.m. CDT (Omaha) / 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 18:00-18:45 GMT / 7 p.m.-7:45 p.m. BST (London)

A discussion of new paradigms in dramaturgy.
Liz Engelman, Emma Goldman-Sherman, Jody McAuliffe, Heather Helinsky, Drew Lichtenberg. Moderator: Liz Engelman

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First