fbpx Livestreaming the 2014 Literary Managers & Dramaturgs of the Americas International Conference | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page Thursday, June 26 to Saturday, June 28, 2014 5pm PDT/ 7pm CDT/ 8pm EDT.

 
Boston, MA, United States
Thursday, June 26 to Saturday, June 28, 2014

Add to Calendar

Livestreaming the 2014 Literary Managers & Dramaturgs of the Americas International Conference

Thursday, June 26 to Saturday, June 28, 2014

 

Thumbnail
 
Literary Managers & Dramaturgs of the Americas will hold its 2014 annual international conference in Boston, USA and will livestream five events on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Thursday, June 26 to Saturday, June 28, 2014.
 
See the livestreaming schedule below. To participate in online conversation, use #LMDA14 and #newplay in Twitter and follow @LMDAmericas and @HowlRoundTV
 
The theme of the conference is “Building the Future.”  In 2013, our LMDA conference focused on adapting to change and the dramaturg’s role in stewarding organizational and cultural transformation.  Now, that we have discussed a changing landscape and how we can respond, we are looking ahead to our 2014 conference in Boston to begin “Building the Future;” creating a space for both vision and engagement in the kinds of experiences and sharing of resources that will help us create the future.  Attendees will immerse themselves in conversations, case studies, discussion panels, and hand-on workshops bringing together Boston-based artists and national and international artists to create exchanges both theoretical and practical. 
 

The conference will be located in Boston’s historic theatre district, near Boston Commons and Public Garden, and hosted by Emerson College and Suffolk University with events also taking place in various locations around the city. 

Conference Chair: Magda Romanska
Co-Chair: Vicki Stroich
Conference Coordinator: Emily Goodridge
LMDA Administrative Director: Danielle Carroll
 
Livestreaming Schedule:
 
Thursday, June 26
 
Keynote with Wesley Morris
5pm PDT/ 7pm CDT/ 8pm EDT

 

Pulitzer Prize winning film critic Wesley Morris speaks how the power of observer, the witness, the critical voice can shape the future of our culture.
 
Wesley Morris is a staff writer at Grantland, where he does criticism about movies, popular culture, race, gender, sexuality, and the role of style in professional sports. For 11 years, he was a film critic at the Boston Globe, and his writing has appeared in Slate, Bloomberg Business Week, Film Comment, and Ebony. At the Globe, he won the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for criticism.
 
 
Friday June 27
 
Plenary Session: “Dramaturgy and Leadership”
7am PDT/ 9am CDT/ 10am EDT

 

Chair: Vicki Stroich (Alberta Theatre Projects)
 
Panelists: Edward Sobel (Temple U.), Mark Bly (Fordham U.); Ilana Brownstein (Boston U./Company One Theatre).
 
Leadership is the action of leading a group or organization towards fulfilling a shared vision or goal. In the basic terms of theatre employment and hierarchy, the roles that come to mind are those of Artistic Directorship, Executive Directorship and other management-level roles in organizations. Dramaturgs have inherent leadership skills. This discussion will explore how we can use them to make an impact on the organizations and communities we work in.
 
 
Plenary Session: “Building Inter-Institutional Collaborations”
1:15pm PDT/ 3:15pm CDT/ 4:15pm EDT

 

Chairs: Ryan McKittrick (A.R.T.) and Charles Haugland (Huntington Theatre Company)
 
Panelists: Mara Isaacs (Octopus Theatricals), Shawn LaCount (Company One Theatre), Diane Borger (A.R.T.).
 
With the rise of the new information age, theatre-making has not been immune to the fast-paced global exchange of goods and ideas. Thanks to the Internet and the digital revolution, average theatregoers are now more aware than ever of their interconnected and interdependent relationships with people and places other than their own. Like cultural artefacts and memes, theatre artists move between countries, continents and neighborhoods with greater ease, creating works that must necessarily negotiate between specific local and global identities. In this new context, dramaturgy emerges as an essential interlink that translates and connects the vast and varied cultural paradigms, while developing complex inter-institutional collaborations.
 
 
Saturday June 28
 
In Conversation—Plenary Session: “Building the Future”—Anne Cattaneo in conversation with Polly Carl, moderated by Vicki Stroich
10:30am PDT/ 12:30pm CDT/ 1:30pm EDT

 

Back by popular demand! Two leaders in our field join each other in conversation. Anne Cattaneo, Lincoln Center Theatre’s Dramaturg and Director of the Lincoln Center Director’s Lab and HowlRound’s director and editor, Polly Carl, discuss their work.
 
 
Plenary Session: “Building Digital Networks”
12:30pm PDT/ 2:30pm CDT/ 3:30pm EDT/ 19:30 GMT/ 9:30pm CEST

 

New collaborative technologies, peer-to-peer exchange platforms and user-driven feedback create new opportunities for digital networks that can change our outreach, dramaturgical research and season planning practices. In the U.S., the National New Play Network is leading the way in transforming the practice of literary office management. Other virtual networks such as New International Theatre Experience, Contemporary Performance Network, American Theatre Archive Project, IETM International Network for Contemporary Performing Arts, The Information Centre for Drama in Europe (ICDE), and The Playwrights’ Center provide additional tools for virtual office management, play exchange, archiving, and peer-to-peer collaborations. Join guests to discuss how these networks are formed and maintained.
 
Chair: Magda Romanska (Emerson/Harvard/BLO)
 
National New Play Network—Jojo Ruf and Gwydion Suilebhan
IETM International Network for Contemporary Performing Arts—Caden Manson and Jemma Nelson (by Skype)
Polish Theatre Institute—Anna Galas
American Theatre Archive Project—Ken Cerniglia (Disney Theatricals)
New International Theatre Experience—Beatriz Cabur (by Skype), Hanife Schulte (proxy)
 
More about the presenting networks:
The National New Play Network (NNPN) is the country’s alliance of non-profit professional theatres that champions the development, production, and continued life of new plays. Since its founding in 1998, NNPN has supported more than 150 productions nationwide. The New Play Exchange allow its members to launch new work across the country and around the world, and have helped to cement the Network’s vitality within the regional theatre landscape and its place as an invaluable incubator of the future of American theatre. www.nnpn.org
 
Contemporary Performance Network is a social media / community organizing network and blog with over 5800 members from 84 countries and 46,000 members on Facebook. The Network provides artists, presenters, scholars and festivals a focused digital space to meet, share work, and collaborate. The Network also publishes the crowd funded and open sourced Contemporary Performance Almanac, an overview of contemporary performance presented during the past season available for touring. As part of the project, the book is mailed to over 200 presenters around the world. www.contemporaryperformance.com
 
E-teatr.pl is the largest portal of Polish Theatre, sponsored by the Raszewski Theatre Institute in Warsaw. E-teatr.pl includes archival materials of plays performed in Poland since 1900, including programs, photographs and posters of the shows. It also includes news, reviews and opinion pieces on contemporary Polish theatre. www.e-teatr.pl
 
American Theatre Archive Project is an initiative of the American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR). ATAP is a network of archivists, dramaturgs, and scholars dedicated to preserving the legacy of the American theatre. ATAP is guided by the work of four Committees, which help develop partnerships, facilitate communication, create guidelines, seek funding, and disseminate best practices. Location-based Teams help individual theatre companies evaluate their records, develop an archiving plan, and secure funding to support long-term archive health. Once created and made accessible to theatre makers, scholars, patrons, and funders on premises online, and/or in a repository, a theatre's archives support institutional integrity and development. www.americantheatrearchiveproject.org
 
New International Theatre Experience is a global service organization that supports and empowers theatre makers by revolutionizing the way artists and administrators create, connect and cooperate in the twenty-first century. Founded in 2012 in Madrid & NYC by Beatriz Cabur and Douglas Howe, New International Theatre Experience transforms the theatrical landscape by providing physical and virtual platforms for investigation, innovation and interaction. NITEcorp is the parent company of three divisions that make up the organization: NITEnews, NITEnetwork and NITEnation. www.nitenews.org, www.nitecorp.com 
 

About HowlRound TV:

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First