Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Monday 17 November 9:15 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 11:15 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 12:15 p.m. EST (New York) / 17:15 GMT (London).

Tulsa, OK, United States
Monday 17 November 2014

The National Performance Network Annual Meeting

Monday 17 November 2014

 

Thumbnail

 

Tulsa, OK! The National Performance Network Annual Meeting in Tulsa, Oklahoma  livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 17 November. 

To participate in conversation, direct your comments on Twitter to @NPN_VAN and use hashtag #AMTULSA. Find the Facebook event here.

Livestreaming Schedule:

Monday 17 November 

Keynote: Mel Chin — #AMTULSA
9:15 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 11:15 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 12:15 p.m. EST (New York) / 17:15 GMT (London)

Internationally-known artist provocateur Mel Chin is the this year’s Annual Meeting keynote. Among the many articles written about Mel Chin, the 3/19/14 New York Times quoted him as saying that art is “about delivering a reality that affects the future of individuals.” He describes his art as both analytical and poetic and evading easy classification. Alchemy, botany, and ecology are but a few of the disciplines that intersect in his work. He insinuates art into unlikely places, including destroyed homes, toxic landfills, and even popular television, investigating how art can provoke greater social awareness and responsibility. Unconventional and politically engaged, his projects also challenge the idea of the artist as the exclusive creative force behind an artwork.

Born in Houston to Chinese parents in 1951, Chin worked in his family’s grocery store and began making art at an early age. He promotes works of art that have the ultimate effect of benefiting science or rejuvenating the economies of inner-city neighborhoods. Examples of his work include “Fundred” project (fundred.org), which brought him to and through New Orleans to raise awareness about lead contamination in communities—NPN/VAN acts as his fiscal sponsor for this piece. In "Revival Field," Chin worked with scientists to create sculpted gardens of hyperaccumulators—plants that can draw heavy metals from contaminated areas—in some of the most polluted sites in the world. Chin received a BA from Peabody College in Nashville, Tennessee, in 1975, and has received numerous awards. He lives in North Carolina.

“The survival of my own ideas may not be as important as a condition I might create for others’ ideas to be realized,” says Chin.

 

Monday, November 17

NextGen 2042: Imagining the Future for Young Administrators in the Arts— #AMTULSA
12 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 2 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 3 p.m. EST (New York) / 20:00 GMT (London)
 
Organizer: Ashley Davis, Community Partnerships Specialist, Alternate ROOTS
Participants: Candace Feldman, Associate Producer, 651 ARTS
Harold Steward, Performing Arts Coordinator, City of Dallas Office of Cultural Affairs
Jonathan McCrory, Director of Theatre Arts Program, National Black Theatre Inc.
 
Arts organizations all across the nation are experiencing leadership shifts. To address this, a group of Next Gen leaders gathered in 2013 at the NPN annual meeting. We continue to grow this network across all borders and plan to build a coalition and are back this year to report on the work that has taken place. The session will include a peer level conversation that addresses growing concerns including programmatic focuses, arts policy, younger community engagement, and transition, and succession preparation.

 

 

Not livestreamed, but will be available available as a video-on-demand:

Monday, November 17

Live & On Stage Performaces — #LiveAndOnStage
6 p.m. PST / 8 p.m. CST / 9 p.m. EST 

Featured Artists in Order of Appearance:
Quinteto Latino
Lionel Popkin
Perpetual Motion Dance

 

***

Tuesday, November 18

Cultural Response to Natural and Human-Caused Disasters: Preparedness and Recovery Models — #AMTULSA
9 a.m. PST / 11 a.m. CST / 12 p.m. EST / 17:00 GMT
 
Presenters:
Sadayuki Higuchi, Secretary General of Arts NPO, Kyoto, Japan
Mollie Quinlan-Hayes, ArtsReady Director, South Arts, Atlanta, GA
José Torres-Tama, ArteFuturo Productions, New Orleans, LA
MK Wegmann, President/CEO, NPN/VAN
 
As natural and human-caused disasters are becoming a recurrent reality worldwide, global connectivity and preparedness are of the essence. Expert Japanese and U.S. community leaders come together to share their knowledge, experiences, and strategies about the critical benefits of preparedness, and effective and creative models of using the arts as a healing tool to re-build communities in the aftermath of natural and man–made disasters.
 
 

Not livestreamed, but will be available available as a video-on-demand:

Tuesday, November 18

Live & On Stage Performances—#LiveAndOnStage
6 p.m. PST / 8 p.m. CST / 9 p.m. EST

Featured Artists in Order of Appearance:
Emily Johnson|Catalyst
Tulsa Modern Movement
Paul S. Flores
Portico Dans Theatre

 

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archiveof past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First