Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 17 August to Tuesday 19 August 2012 6:30 p.m. EDT / 5:30 p.m. CDT / 3:30 p.m. PDT / 22:30 GMT.

Detroit, MI, United States
Sunday 17 August to Tuesday 19 August 2012

Add to Calendar

NET's MicroFest USA: Detroit

Sunday 17 August to Tuesday 19 August 2012

The Network of Ensemble Theaters presented events, performances, panels, and conversations from MicroFest USA: Detroit livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Sunday 17 August to Tuesday 19 August 2012.

 

Thumbnail

Although Detroit’s community is fraught with limited resources and its socio-economic narrative dominated by devastation, the city has become a model for artist/activist-led collaborative, guerilla-style, grassroots action and community-driven revitalization. From “block clubs” that tackle issues surrounding blighted properties to artists working within their own neighborhood to engage youth in beautification projects, Detroiters across the city are active in creating the culture and home they envision and doing so through dialogue and collaboration.

MicroFest USA: Detroit zoomed into the activity and efforts happening in Detroit to springboard into an exploration of similar national efforts around issues such as urban planning, food issues, sustainability, prison issues/reform, and performance.

The following schedule is for all the events, performances, panels, and conversations that was livestreamed on HowlRound TV during these three days at the MicroFest. Follow @HowlRound as well as the hashtag #howlround in Twitter to get the latest on-the-ground news about the livestreaming and what's happening at the MicroFest. (This schedule is subject to change due to internet connectivity issues that may be encountered at certain venues.)

FRIDAY, AUGUST 17 2012

Opening at Art Effect Gallery at 6:30 p.m. EDT / 5:30 p.m. CDT / 3:30 p.m. PDT / 22:30 GMT.
Featuring: jessica Care moore

Art, the Avant Garde, and the Realities of Resurrecting an American City, a Rogue HAA Panel at 7 p.m. EDT / 6 p.m. CDT / 4 p.m. PDT / 23:00 GMT.

 

Featuring:
Oya Amakisi, Detroit Women of Color International Film Festival/US Social Forum Jela Ellefson, Eastern Market
Mike Han, Street Culture Mash
Philip Lauri, Detroit Lives!

Detroit Performances at 9 p.m. EDT / 8 p.m. CDT / 6 p.m. PDT / 01:00 GMT.

 

Featuring:
DJ Stacey Hotwaxx Hale
Detroit Dance Collective
Hardcore Detroit
Invincible
Monica Blaire
Ryan Meyers Johnson
Tawana “Honeycomb” Petty
Will See

SATURDAY, AUGUST 18 2012

Art Impact on an Issue: The Justice System at 9:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m. EDT / 8:30am–11:30 a.m. CDT / 6:30 a.m.–9:30 a.m. PDT / 13:30–16:30 GMT.

A performance and panel discussion about artists working in the prisons, with returning citizens, families of the incarcerated, and lawyers/judges. 4TheatrSake presents Cell/Ships, a dance/theatre piece based on interviews with people who have been incarcerated.

 

Featuring:
Buzz Alexander
Hasan Davis
Prison Creative Arts Project
Yusef Shakur
Facilitated by: Sari Adelson & dream hampton

Mosaic Youth Theatre of Detroit: In Action at 2 p.m.–3:30 p.m. EDT / 1 p.m.–2:30 p.m. CDT / 11 a.m.–12:30 p.m. PDT / 18:00–19:30 GMT.

This workshop will provide tools for creating original performance. Insights into evaluation processes used in youth development will be shared.

Reflection at 3:45 p.m.–4:45 p.m. EDT / 2:45 p.m.–3:45 p.m. CDT / 12:45 p.m.–1:45 p.m. PDT / 19:45–20:45 GMT.

Daniel Banks facilitates a session to share responses and reflections from the morning tracks and afternoon workshops.

SUNDAY, AUGUST 19 2012

Town Hall: How do you know the work is having an impact? at 11 a.m.–12 p.m. EDT / 10 a.m.–11 a.m. CDT / 8 a.m.–9 a.m. PDT / 3 p.m.–4 p.m. GMT

A participatory discussion focused on reflections of impact and articulating the various elements of community cultural development.

Closing at 12 p.m.–12:30 p.m. EDT / 11 a.m.–11:30 a.m. CDT / 9 a.m.–9:30 a.m. PDT / 16:00–16:30 GMT.

Closing thoughts from the weekend and preview of the next MicroFest in Knoxville, TN/Harlan, KY.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First