Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Friday 31 October to Sunday 2 November 2014 10 a.m. PDT / 12 p.m. CDT / 1 p.m. EDT / 17:00 GMT GMT

New York, NY, United States
Friday 31 October to Sunday 2 November 2014

Network of Ensemble Theaters' Intersection: Ensembles + Universities at the New School

Friday 31 October to Sunday 2 November 2014

 

Thumbnail

 

The Network of Ensemble Theaters presented Intersection: Ensembles + Universities from LaMama and New School University in New York City livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network ahowlround.tv on Friday 31 October to Sunday 2 November 2014. In Twitter, use #howlround to share conversation. See the livestream schedule below.

What is Intersection?
Intersection is a symposium that will launch a multi-year investigation of the connectivity between professional ensembles and colleges/universities. Across the country, NET is seeing an increase in ensemble artists working within academia, with a concomitant increase in the inclusion of ensemble practices within curriculum. In addition, universities and colleges produce many of the next generation of ensemble artists. Recognizing these already significant interrelationships, NET hopes to identify ways to serve more intentionally as a resource and connector within and between sectors.

Among the issues to be addressed in the inaugural symposium will be ensemble pedagogy and training, the practices of ensemble creation within the university structure and time frames, and how NET might serve as a pre-professional bridge between graduates and ensembles, to build connections and strengthen and track post-graduate career progress for ensemble theatremakers.

Among the questions to be explored:

• How do we create, perform, teach, and practice ensemble with in the university setting?
• What do students gain from learning ensemble practice in academia?
• What are examples and hallmarks of successful ensemble/university collaborations?
• How can universities/scholars and ensembles/artists work together to better serve one another and fulfill the goals of each?
• How does or can ensemble artmaking function as academic research? What tools, language, and structures are required?

Intersection will explore these questions and others through hands-on learning, peer-to-peer conversations, interdisciplinary workshops and performances, and community brainstorming.

What is an ensemble?
As defined by NET: "An ensemble is a group of individuals dedicated to collaborative creation, committed to working together consistently over years to develop a distinctive body of work and practices."

Livestream Schedule:

Friday 31 October

Opening Plenary: La MaMa: A Nexus for Ensemble and Universities

 

 

10 a.m.-1 p.m. PDT / 12 p.m.-3 p.m. CDT / 1 p.m.-4 p.m. EDT / 17:00 GMT - 20:00 GMT
Welcome
Fourth Arts Block (FAB)
40 Years of Ensembles at La MaMa
Four Generations of Ensembles
La MaMa and Universities

Saturday 1 November

Keynote: Liz Lerman
7 a.m. PDT / 9 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. EDT / 14:00 GMT
Making Rules and Breaking Rules: a choreographic consideration of creating structures for collaborative-making, and the nature of leadership within those structures.

 

 

All Theatre is Physical Theatre
8 a.m. PDT / 10 a.m. CDT / 11 a.m. EDT / 15:00 GMT
Facilitator: Cecilia Rubino (The New School). Presenters: Leonard Cruz (St. Mary’s College of Maryland), Meghan Frank (Dell'Arte International), Elisabeth Hostetter (Rowan University), Lane Savadove (Rowan University), Melanie Stewart (Rowan University)

 

 

Plenary: Theater Grottesco performance
11 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. EDT / 18:00 GMT
Presented by Theater Grottesco, CONSIDER THIS is a 60-minute romp, masquerading as a lecture-demonstration, through the pre-history of American theatre—from Greek tragedy to commedia dell'arte clown, buffoon, masks, and more.

 

 

Training Designers for Ensemble Collaborations
12:30 p.m. PDT / 2:30 p.m. CDT / 3:30 p.m. EDT / 19:30 GMT
Facilitator: Sabrina Hamilton (Ko Festival of Performance/Ko Theater Works) Presenters: Leon Ingulsrud (SITI Company), Robert H. Leonard (Virginia Tech), Darron L. West (SITI Company). 

 

 

Plenary: Cross-Generational Influences - Rosemary Quinn, Cristal Chanelle Truscott, Tiana K. Johnson, and Rebekah Stevens
2:15 p.m. PDT / 4:15 p.m. CDT / 5:15 p.m. EDT / 21:15 GMT
Three generations of ensemble theatremakers, educators, and students share performances and discuss legacy, training, inter-generational collaboration.

 

 

Sunday 2 November

Plenary: 100 Questions, 3 ideas, 1 story, and a ghost - Michael Rohd
7:30 a.m. PDT / 9:30 p.m. CDT / 10:30 a.m. EDT / 15:30 GMT
A reflection on ensemble practice inside and outside the theatre, the arts, and civic settings.

 

 

Ensemble + University Partnerships for Creating Socially Engaged Theatre
8:30 a.m. PDT / 10:30 a.m. CDT / 11:30 a.m. EDT / 16:30 GMT
Facilitator: Bruce Allardice (Ping Chong + Company). Presenters: Steven Hitt (LaGuardia Community College), Yuko Kurahashi (Kent State University), Michael Rohd (Northwestern University/Sojourn Theatre)

 

 

Closing Session
10:15 a.m. PDT / 12:15 p.m. CDT / 1:15 p.m. EDT / 18:15 GMT

 

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archiveof past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First