Event Has Passed

Panel Discussions around the Sanctuary Movement from Borderlands Theater in Tucson—Sunday 9 September - Thursday 20 September 2018

Thumbnail

Borderlands Theater in Tucson, Arizona presented a series of panel discussions around their production of Sanctuary by Milta Ortiz, based on real people and events Sanctuary chronicles the Tucson birth of the 1980’s Sanctuary Movement, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Sunday 9 September to Thursday 20 September.

In 1981, when Carol and Mica find out about detained Salvadorans fleeing civil war, they set out to process political asylum applications. After they meet Victor, a Salvadoran in a Border Patrol detention center, they realize they’re going to need help. They call on Father Hartford, who is first to meet Nidia, another Salvadoran with strong but different opinions on the Salvadoran civil war.

Carol and Mica enlist pastor Jeff Chord of Southside Presbyterian Church, who sits on the National Presbyterian Council and before long Quaker Will Hewitt joins the group with ideas of his own. As the number of detained Salvadorans and Guatemalans continues to grow, the group must choose whether or not to stand up for what they believe. Will they choose the law of man or the law of God?

Sanctuary kicks off a trilogy of plays dealing with immigrants seeking refuge in the U.S., exploring the U.S. involvement in Central America, its consequences, and response.

In an effort to make discussions with immigration specialists accessible, they will be livestreamed through Howlround, a knowledge commons by and for the theater community

Sunday 9 September  Originators of the 1980’s Sanctuary Movement
6:05 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) /  8:05 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:05 p.m. EDT (New York)
Panelists: Margo Cowan, Lupe Castillo, Reverend John Fife and Father Ricardo Elford
Moderated by playwright Milta Ortiz

Thursday 13 September – Southside Presbyterian Church Today
6:45 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 7:45 p.m. MDT (Tucson) / 8:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:45 p.m. EDT (New York)
Panelists: Pastor Alison Harrington and Day Laborer Program representative

Sunday 16 September – Immigration Awareness: What Tucson Groups Are Doing to Help in the Immigrant Crisis
6:45 p.m. MDT (Tucson) / 7:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8:45 p.m. EDT (New York)
Panelists: Catherine Gaffney of No More Deaths, Debbie McCullough of Tucson Samaritans, Laura Belous of the Florence Immigrant & Refugee Rights Project, and Rocío Calderón and Cecilia Valenzuela Gee from Casa Maria Visitation Program
Moderated by Anna O’Leary Ph.D. Department Head/ Mexican American Studies, University of Arizona

Thursday 20 September – Globalization and Immigration, and Advocacy
7:45 p.m. MDT (Tucson) / 8:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:45 p.m. EDT (New York)
Panelists: Isabel Garcia (Attorney and long time organizer/Derechos Humanos,) Consul General German Alvarez (Salvadoran Consulate,) and Zaira Livier (Peoples’ Defense Initiative and Free the Children Coalition)
Moderated by Elizabeth Oglesby Ph.D. Associate Professor of Geography and Development, and Center for Latin American Studies, University of Arizona

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First