Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Thursday 11 January 2018 at 6:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 9:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 14:30 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 15:30 CET (Berlin, UTC +1).

New York City, NY, United States
Thursday 11 January 2018

Add to Calendar

The Under the Radar 2018 Professional Symposium

Produced With
Thursday 11 January 2018

 

Thumbnail

 

The Public Theater in New York City presented the Under the Radar 2018 Professional Symposium livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at HowlRound.TV Thursday 11 January 2018 at 6:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 9:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 14:30 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 15:30 CET (Berlin, UTC +1). Follow @howlround on Twitter and use hashtag #UTR18.

The Under the Radar Professional Symposium was a two-day event on 11 and 12 January 2018 featuring a chance to see full productions of festival shows as well as keynote speakers and featured artist speakers. 

SYMPOSIUM PLENARY SESSION in Joe’s Pub
6:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 9:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 14:30 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 15:30 CET (Berlin, UTC +1)

WELCOME
-Mark Russell (Festival Director, The Public Theater’s Under the Radar)
-Shanta Thake (Director, Joe’s Pub at The Public Theater)
-Mario Garcia Durham (President and CEO, Association of Performing Arts Professionals)
-Oskar Eustis (Artistic Director, The Public Theater)

FROM WHERE I STAND
-Robert Schenkkan (Playwright & Screenwriter, U.S.A.)
-Charlotte Brathwaite (Director, Canada/U.K./Barbados)
-Jess Thom (Writer & Artist, Touretteshero, U.K.)

COFFEE BREAK in the Lobby
7:45 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 10:45 a.m. EST (New York)

COMING ATTRACTIONS in Joe’s Pub
8:00 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 11:00 a.m. EST (New York)
A combination of an entrepreneurial “pitch” and an aesthetic dialogue, this is an opportunity for presenters and programmers to get a more in-depth look at works on tour and projects currently in development.

Artists include:
-Sinking Ship Productions (A Hunger Artist)
-The TEAM (Primer for a Failed Superpower)
-UNIVERSES (UNISON)
-Joseph Keckler (Train With No Midnight: Stage Show)

The Under the Radar Professional Symposium was a pre-conference event of the Association of Performing Arts Professionals (formerly the Association of Performing Arts Presenters) and was held in conjunction with the APAP|NYC 2018 conference. APAP is the national service, advocacy and membership organization for presenters of the performing arts and the convener of APAP|NYC, the world’s leading gathering of performing arts professionals, held every January in New York City. 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

 

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First