Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Thursday 19 October at 16:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 17:00 EEST (Beirut, UTC +3) / 3 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 14:00 UTC +0 / 10 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4).

Poland
Thursday 19 October 2017

Add to Calendar

Why do we need theatre?

A debate about cultural institutions in tae world where the freedom of creation is endangered.

Thursday 19 October 2017
Thumbnail

 

The Dialog-Wrocław International Theatre Festival in Poland presented the debate Why do we need theatre? livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 19 October at 16:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 17:00 EEST (Beirut, UTC +3) / 3 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 14:00 UTC +0 / 10 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4). In Twitter, follow @howlround for updates and use #howlround.

In a world where xenophobia and nationalism are slowly taking hold and power is gained by populists who, under the guise of safety and security, build new authoritarian systems, cultural institutions become important defenders of freedom and civil liberties. 

One question remains: 

What should be the tasks of cultural institutions in the world where the freedom of creation is endangered? 

This is the starting point for our debate.

 

Thumbnail

POLSKI: Aby usłyszeć tłumaczenie użyj słuchawek lub tak ustaw balans dźwięku, aby słyszalny był tylko prawy kanał. Help.

 

Thumbnail

ENGLISH: Use headphones or adjust your computer's sound balance to the left in order to listen to this video in English. Help.

 

Guests:
Matthias Lilienthal (Münchner Kammerspiele)
Selma Spahić (International Theatre Festival MESS)
Wouter van Ransbeek (Toneelgroep Amsterdam)
Jens Hillje (Gorki Theater)
Goran Injac (Mljadinsko Theatre)

Moderated by:
Edwin Bendyk (newsmagazine Polityka)

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

1
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First