Belgium

The Latest

Resilience versus Populism
Essay

Resilience versus Populism

by Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi
22 November 2017
Being Radical or Nothing! / La radicalité sinon rien !
Essay

Being Radical or Nothing! / La radicalité sinon rien !

by Sylvia Botella, Olivier Neveux
21 November 2017
Are We On Stage to Reflect the Audience or Create It? / Est-ce qu’on est sur scène pour refléter un public, ou le constituer ?
Essay

Are We On Stage to Reflect the Audience or Create It? / Est-ce qu’on est sur scène pour refléter un public, ou le constituer ?

by Sylvia Botella, Éric Fassin
21 November 2017
Resilience versus Populism
Essay

Resilience versus Populism

22 November 2017

Brussels-based curator and dramaturg Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi writes about the art scene in her city, and how it is and isn't addressing contemporary social and political needs. 

Being Radical or Nothing! / La radicalité sinon rien !
Essay

Being Radical or Nothing! / La radicalité sinon rien !

21 November 2017

Sylvia Botella interviews Belgium-based theatre historian Olivier Neveux about his thoughts on populism, decomocratizing access to culture, and the political responsibility of the artist. / 

Sylvia Botella interview l’historien de théâtre belge à propos de ses pensées sur le populisme,

la démocratisation de l'accès à la culture et la responsabilité politique de l'artiste.

Are We On Stage to Reflect the Audience or Create It? / Est-ce qu’on est sur scène pour refléter un public, ou le constituer ?
Essay

Are We On Stage to Reflect the Audience or Create It? / Est-ce qu’on est sur scène pour refléter un public, ou le constituer ?

21 November 2017

Sylvia Botella interviews sociologist Éric Fassin about his views on the connection between sociology, the performing arts, and politics in the age of populism.

The Artist as Agent for Change
Essay

The Artist as Agent for Change

16 November 2017

Brussels-based choreographer, curator, and writer Michiel Vandevelde argues that artists need to reclaim a place of power in the arts sector.

Art in the Age of Populism
Series

Art in the Age of Populism

IETM Brussels

Populism may be considered as an ideology, a movement, or simply a style. Some may perceive it as a weapon against democracy, because it shrinks the space for plurality; some may view it as democracy's last vessel of hope, because it brings politics closer to the people. This series explores how the Belgian arts sector confronts this complex phenomenon.

IETM Brussels Opening Keynote Speech Art in the Age of Populism—Thursday 23 November 2017
Video

IETM Brussels Opening Keynote Speech Art in the Age of Populism—Thursday 23 November 2017

IETM - International network for contemporary performing arts presented the opening keynote speech Art in the Age of Populism by Eric Corijn from the IETM Brussels Plenary Meeting 2017 livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 23 November at 16:00 - 18:00 CET (Brussels, UTC +1) / 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. GMT (London, UTC +0) / 17:00 - 19:00 EET (Bucharest, UTC +2) / 23:00 - 01:00 AEST (Singapore, UTC +8). Share your thoughts on Twitter by using the hashtag #IETMBrussels. Follow @IETM and @HowlRound for news and updates.

IETM Brussels Plenary Pluralist Populist Poetics—Friday 24 November 2017
Video

IETM Brussels Plenary Pluralist Populist Poetics—Friday 24 November 2017

IETM - International network for contemporary performing arts presented a day opening plenary speech Pluralist Populist Poetics by Eleanor Bauer from the IETM Brussels Meeting 2017 livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 24 November at 10:00 - 10:45 CET (Brussels, UTC +1) / 4:00 a.m. - 4:45 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 9:00 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. GMT (London, UTC +0) / 11:00 - 11:45 EET (Bucharest, UTC +2) / 17:00 - 17:45 SGT (Singapore, UTC +8) / 8:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m. AEDT (Sydney, UTC +11). Share your thoughts on Twitter by using the hashtag #IETMBrussels. Follow @IETM and @HowlRound for news and updates.

A performance of WarSawSirenaF451 at Project Curie City-experimental incubator of art from Warsaw in Paris, France—Thursday 15 December 2016
Video

A performance of WarSawSirenaF451 at Project Curie City-experimental incubator of art from Warsaw in Paris, France—Thursday 15 December 2016

Project Curie City presented a performance of WarSawSirenaF451—scenes by Warsaw women—livestreamed from Paris, France on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 15 December. In Twitter, follow @HowlRoundTV and use #howlround

Kris Verdonck Artist Talk: Listen to the Bloody Machine at The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York—Wednesday 25 May 2016
Video

Kris Verdonck Artist Talk: Listen to the Bloody Machine at The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York—Wednesday 25 May 2016

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented Kris Verdonck Artist Talk: Listen to the Bloody Machine—livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 25 May at 3:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York). On Twitter use #HowlRound.