Japan

The Latest

Japanese Contemporary Theatre Magazine Launch and Panel Discussion
Video

Japanese Contemporary Theatre Magazine Launch and Panel Discussion

at the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center

Thursday 16 May 2019
New York City
The Japanese Playwrights Project 
Video

The Japanese Playwrights Project 

Satoko Ichihara/Kristine Haruna Lee, Jun Tsutsui/Soraya Broukhim, Kuro Tanino/Mallory Catlett

Monday-Tuesday 12-13 November 2018
New York City
A panel conversation about Shūji Terayama
Video

A panel conversation about Shūji Terayama

Monday 20 November 2017
New York, NY, United States
actors in traditional japanese dress against neon tokyo background
Japanese Contemporary Theatre Magazine Launch and Panel Discussion
Video

Japanese Contemporary Theatre Magazine Launch and Panel Discussion

at the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center

Thursday 16 May 2019
New York City

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented Japanese Contemporary Theatre Magazine Launch and Panel Discussion livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 16 May at 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco UTC-7) / 4 p.m. EDT (New York UTC-4) / 20:00 UTC+0 / 9 p.m. BST (London UTC+1).

photo of stage depicting a japanese house
The Japanese Playwrights Project 
Video

The Japanese Playwrights Project 

Satoko Ichihara/Kristine Haruna Lee, Jun Tsutsui/Soraya Broukhim, Kuro Tanino/Mallory Catlett

Monday-Tuesday 12-13 November 2018
New York City

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented the Japanese Playwrights Project (Day 1) livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 12 November and Tuesday 13 November 2018.

A panel conversation about Shūji Terayama
Video

A panel conversation about Shūji Terayama

Monday 20 November 2017
New York, NY, United States

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented Shūji Terayama’s Laura (Rora), Trial (Shinpan), and Americans, who are you? (America-jin Anata-wa) followed by a panel discussion livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 20 November 2017 at 6:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 5:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles).

Transformation through Training
Essay

Transformation through Training

Tadashi Suzuki and Anne Bogart on the Suzuki Method

3 September 2017

Tadashi Suzuki and Anne Bogart in conversation at the Symposium on the Suzuki Method with SITI Company—New York City, June 3, 2017.

An artist talk with Tadashi Suzuki
Video

An artist talk with Tadashi Suzuki

Tuesday 30 May 2017
New York, NY, United States

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented an artist talk with Tadashi Suzuki livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 30 May at 12:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 11:00 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:00 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles).

Rooms of Desire
Essay

Rooms of Desire

Checking In at Kuro Tanino's Avidya: No Lights Inn

3 January 2017

Zach Dorn explores Kuro Tanino’s mythical Avidya: No Lights Inn, a ritualistic and darkly spiritual experience at the Kyoto International Performing Arts Festival in Japan.

Zahdi Dates and Poppies
Essay

Zahdi Dates and Poppies

Noh Drama at Boston University

30 April 2016

A conversation with Theatre Nohgaku members about noh theatre and their production of Zahdi Dates and Poppies.

The PEN World Voices: International Play Festival 2016 at The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York—Wednesday 27 April - Friday 29 April 2016
Video

The PEN World Voices: International Play Festival 2016 at The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York—Wednesday 27 April - Friday 29 April 2016

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented PEN World Voices: International Play Festival 2016 livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 27 April to Friday 29 April. On Twitter use #HowlRound.

Theatre Nohgaku Performances and Lectures at Boston University—Friday 25 March - Saturday 26 March 2016
Video

Theatre Nohgaku Performances and Lectures at Boston University—Friday 25 March - Saturday 26 March 2016

Boston University presented Theatre Nohgaku's Performance and Discussion of Noh Music and a Lecture and Demonstration of Noh and Kyogen Performance Styles livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 25 March and Saturday 26 March. On Twitter, use #howlround and follow @HowlRoundTV

Performance of A Quiet Day and Conversation about Robot Dramaturgy with The Builders Association (New York) & Nibroll (Tokyo) at the Martin E. Segal Center in New York City
Video

Performance of A Quiet Day and Conversation about Robot Dramaturgy with The Builders Association (New York) & Nibroll (Tokyo) at the Martin E. Segal Center in New York City

Thursday 3 December 2015

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented a performance of A Quiet Day and a conversation about Performance Robot Dramaturgy livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 3 December 3 at 2 p.m. PST (Vancouver) / 4 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 5 p.m. EST New York / 22:00 GMT (London). In Twitter, use #howlround.