Deaf Theatre Action Planning Session

The Deaf Theatre Action Planning Session convening took place 15-17 March 2019, hosted by HowlRound in partnership with Tyrone Giordano, DJ Kurs, Patty Liang, Alexandria Wailes, Ethan Sinnott, and Rachel Grossman, This convening was a gathering of thirty Deaf theatre producers and administrators from across the country, intended to develop a future-focused, action-oriented plan for creating a national network and training-to-production "pipelines" that foster the long-term education and advancement of all Deaf theatre artists.

This event is one of four convenings selected as part of the HowlRound Challenge to advance the role of the arts as a catalyst for social change. The HowlRound Challenge and this convening are made possible thanks to the support of the Barr Foundation.

All events, unless otherwise noted, took place at the Jackie Liebergott Black Box in the Paramount Theatre, located at 559 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02116.

group of people applauding in ASL

Friday 15 March 2019

Welcome, Creation of Space & Setting this Moment Apart from the Past (Livestreaming)

8:45 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (Juneau) / 9:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. (Los Angeles) / 11:45 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. (Austin) / 12:45 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. (New York)

What’s happening in Deaf / DeafBlind theatre in the US today? (Livestreaming)

11:30 a.m. - 1:45 p.m. (Juneau) / 12:30 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. (Los Angeles) / 2:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. (Austin) / 3:30 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. (New York)

Closing Remarks

5:45 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. EDT

Saturday 16 March 2019

Overview of the Day and Discussion of Pro-Tactile ASL

9:00 - 9:45 a.m. EDT

Imagining the Future & Moving Forward Together (Livestreaming)

5:45 a.m. - 7:45 a.m. (Juneau) / 6:45 a.m. - 8:45 a.m. (Los Angeles) / 8:45 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. (Austin) / 9:45 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. (New York)

Working Groups

11:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. EDT

Creating Action Plans toward the Future

1:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. EDT

Asset Mapping Report Outs (Livestreaming)

12:00 p.m. - 12:40 p.m. (Juneau) /1:00 p.m. - 1:40 p.m. (Los Angeles) / 3:00 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. (Austin) / 4:00 p.m. - 4:40 p.m. (New York)

Closing Reflections

4:40 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. EDT

Sunday 17 March 2019

What's Alive for You?

9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. EDT

Working Groups 

9:30 a.m. - 10:20 a.m. EDT

Report Outs (Livestreaming)

6:20 a.m. - 7:15 a.m. (Juneau) / 7:20 a.m. - 8:15 a.m. (Los Angeles) / 9:20 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. (Austin) / 10:20 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. (New York)

Intentions and Accountability (Livestreaming)

7:15 a.m. - 7:45 a.m. (Juneau) / 8:15 a.m. - 8:45 a.m. (Los Angeles) / 10:15 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. (Austin) / 11:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. (New York)

Commitments and Closing Remarks

11:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. EDT

a group of people watching others onstage

About HowlRound
HowlRound is a free and open platform for theatremakers worldwide that amplifies progressive, disruptive ideas about the art form and facilitates connection between diverse practitioners. HowlRound seeks to democratize the arts by effectively modeling the transformative power of commons-based practice. HowlRound is a “commons”—a social structure that invites open participation around shared values. HowlRound’s tools and programs include an online journal, HowlRound TV, the World Theatre Map, the Latinx Theatre Commons, documenting the impact of playwright residencies through the National Playwright Residency Program, and inperson convenings. All HowlRound content is peer produced by the community it serves. Founded in 2011, HowlRound operates inside the Office of the Arts at Emerson College. howlround.com