Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Friday 15 March to Sunday 17 March 2019.

Emerson College, Jackie Liebergott Black Box in the Paramount Theatre, Boston
Friday 15 March 2019 - Sunday 17 March 2019

Deaf Theatre Action Planning Session

at Emerson College in Boston, MA

Friday 15 March 2019 - Sunday 17 March 2019

The Deaf Theatre Action Planning Session was a convening that took place 15-17 March 2019 at Emerson College in Boston, Massachusetts. The convening was produced by Tyrone Giordano, DJ Kurs, Patty Liang, Alexandria Wailes, Ethan Sinnott, and Rachel Grossman in partnership with HowlRound. It was a gathering of over thirty Deaf theatremakers, producers, and administrators from across the United States, intended to develop a future-focused, action-oriented plan for creating a national network and training-to-production "pipelines" that foster the long-term education and advancement of all Deaf theatre artists.

We represent a cross-section of disciplines and artists, companies and institutions of different ages and varying connections to the Deaf community. We are also a group of people who feel compelled to change the circumstances, and we believe this convening can be the catalyst to begin creating conditions for change on a unified national scale.

Have questions? Email us at dtaps@howlround.com!

Want to know more about this convening?

Friday 15 March 2019

Arrivals 

12:00 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. EDT 

 Lunch provided

Welcome (Livestreaming)

8:45 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. (Juneau) / 9:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (Los Angeles) / 11:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. (Austin) / 12:45 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (New York)

Creation of Space & Setting this Moment Apart from the Past (Livestreaming)

9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (Juneau) / 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. (Los Angeles) / 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. (Austin) / 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. (New York)

3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. EDT

Break

What’s happening in Deaf / DeafBlind theatre in the US today? (Livestreaming)

11:30 a.m. - 1:45 p.m. (Juneau) / 12:30 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. (Los Angeles) / 2:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. (Austin) / 3:30 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. (New York)

5:45 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. EDT

Closing Remarks

Saturday 16 March 2019

9:00 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. EDT

Overview of the Day and Discussion of Pro-Tactile ASL

Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion in Deaf Theatre

Imagining the Future & Moving Forward Together (Livestreaming)

5:45 a.m. - 7:45 a.m. (Juneau) / 6:45 a.m. - 8:45 a.m. (Los Angeles) / 8:45 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. (Austin) / 9:45 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. (New York)

11:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Working Groups

12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. EDT

Lunch

1:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. EDT

Creating Action Plans toward the Future

Asset Mapping Report Outs

Report Outs (Livestreaming)

12:00 p.m. - 12:40 p.m. (Juneau) /1:00 p.m. - 1:40 p.m. (Los Angeles) / 3:00 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. (Austin) / 4:00 p.m. - 4:40 p.m. (New York)

4:40 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. EDT

Closing Reflection

Sunday 17 March 2019

9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. EDT

What’s Alive for You?

9:30 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. EDT

Working Groups

Report Outs (Livestreaming)

6:20 a.m. - 7:15 a.m. (Juneau) / 7:20 a.m. - 8:15 a.m. (Los Angeles) / 9:20 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. (Austin) / 10:20 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. (New York)

Intentions and Accountability (Livestreaming)

7:15 a.m. - 7:45 a.m. (Juneau) / 8:15 a.m. - 8:45 a.m. (Los Angeles) / 10:15 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. (Austin) / 11:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. (New York)

11:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. EDT

Closing Remarks

Commitments

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First