Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Wednesday 20 November 2019 at 9:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 12:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 17:30 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 18:30 CET (Budapest, UTC +1) / 19:30 EET (Bucharest, UTC +2).

Bucharest, Romania
Wednesday 20 November 2019

153 Seconds directed by Ioana Paun

Based on testimonies of survivors of the Colectiv nightclub fire in Bucharest, Romania in 2015.

Produced With
Wednesday 20 November 2019

National Dance Centre in Bucharest, Romania presented 153 Seconds livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Wednesday 20 November 2019 at 12:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 17:30 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 18:30 CET (Budapest, UTC +1) / 19:30 EET (Bucharest, UTC +2).

153 Seconds is an examination of the Colectiv nightclub fire, based on testimonies of survivors, but also a macro-critique of contemporary society. 153 Seconds starts with the story of one survivor and gradually becomes a visual essay about a generation which is stuck.

With the help of 20 young performers, the show reconstructs, without graphical violence, the energy of a crowd at a critical moment. The directions this group takes are defined by opposing emotions: exaltation, enthusiasm, numbness, paralysis, fury. The sound and the movement recreate the Colectiv turmoil and reconstructs the pulsations of a terrified collective body.

Directed by Ioana Paun
Hosted by Bucharest National Dance Center

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark