Romania

The Latest

Culture After #MeToo 
Video

Culture After #MeToo 

A panel hosted by Játéktér Theatre Journal — Cluj, Romania

Wednesday 29 May 2019
Cluj, Romania
A performance of Unpredicted
Video

A performance of Unpredicted

by Váróterem Projekt (Waiting Room Project) in Cluj, Romania

Thursday 30 May 2019
Cluj, Romania
The Other Role
Essay

The Other Role

On the Representation of Roma on the Hungarian Stage

by katarzyna pabijanek
11 March 2019
Howlround Theatre Commons
From the World Theatre Map
text unprecise unpredictable unpredicted unpreferred unprefixed
A performance of Unpredicted
Video

A performance of Unpredicted

by Váróterem Projekt (Waiting Room Project) in Cluj, Romania

Thursday 30 May 2019
Cluj, Romania

Váróterem Projekt presents a performance of Unpredicted livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Cluj, Romania on Thursday 30 May at 1 p.m. EDT (New York UTC-4) / 17:00 UTC+0 / 6 p.m. BST (London UTC+1) /  19:00 CEST (Budapest, UTC+2) /  20:00 (Cluj, UTC+3).

tan textured background, text culture after #metoo
Culture After #MeToo 
Video

Culture After #MeToo 

A panel hosted by Játéktér Theatre Journal — Cluj, Romania

Wednesday 29 May 2019
Cluj, Romania

Játéktér theatre journal presented the panel Culture after #MeToo livestreamed from Planetarium Cafe in Cluj, Romania on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 29 May 2019 at 12 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 16:00 UTC+0 / 5 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 18:00 CEST (Budapest, UTC +2) / 19:00 EEST (Cluj, UTC +3).

group of people onstage
The Other Role
Essay

The Other Role

On the Representation of Roma on the Hungarian Stage

11 March 2019

Katarzyna Pabijanek reflects on Roma presence in Hungarian theatre, both throughout history and today.

Seven Romani actors sit together looking at the camera
From Cultural Appropriation to Self-Representation
Essay

From Cultural Appropriation to Self-Representation

A History of Roma Theatre in Romania

10 March 2019

Mihaela Dragan looks at the way Roma are and have been portrayed in theatre in Romania and how Romani artists are working to reclaim their stories.

Introducing the World Theatre Map Ambassadors
Essay

Introducing the World Theatre Map Ambassadors

14 July 2017

The World Theatre Map beta project has engaged its first cohort of twenty-eight World Theatre Map Ambassadors from twenty-four countries to direct community organizing, outreach, and feedback gathering.

Performance and Panel Discussions from TESZT 2017 at the Euroregional Theatre Festival 
Video

Performance and Panel Discussions from TESZT 2017 at the Euroregional Theatre Festival 

Friday 26 May 2017
Timișoara, Romania

The Euroregional Theatre Festival Timișoara — TESZT presented the livestreaming of a performance and video archives of panel discussions from Timișoara, Romania on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 26 May 2017. In Twitter, follow @howlround for updates. 

The Artist as a Cultural Manager
Essay

The Artist as a Cultural Manager

27 April 2017

Corina Bucea writes about the role of cultural manager in the contemporary arts scene in Romania.

Performance of Temporary Residence
Video

Performance of Temporary Residence

Thursday 20 April 2017
Bucharest, Romania

MACAZ - Theatre Coop in Bucharest, Romania presented a performance of Temporary Residence livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 20 April at 19:00 EEST (UTC+3 Bucharest) / 18:00 CEST (UTC+2 Berlin) / 5:00 p.m. BST (UTC+1 London) / 16:00 GMT (UTC+0) / 12:00 p.m. EDT (UTC-4 New York) / 9:00 a.m. PDT (UTC-7 Los Angeles). On Twitter, follow @howlroundtv for updates and use #howlround

The Opening Keynote Speech by Mircea Cărtărescu
Video

The Opening Keynote Speech by Mircea Cărtărescu

Thursday, April 20 2017
Bucharest, Romania

IETM - International network for contemporary performing arts presented the Opening Keynote Speech of IETM Bucharest Plenary Meeting 2017 by Mircea Cărtărescu livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday, April 20 at 16:00 - 17:30 EEST (Bucharest, Romania) / 9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York) / 13:00 - 14:30 UTC-GMT / 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. BST (London) / 15:00 - 16:30 CEST (Brussels) / 23:00 - 00:30 AEST (Sydney). Share your thoughts on Twitter by using the hashtag #IETMBucharest. Follow @IETM and @HowlRoundTV for news and updates.

How to Get Rid of Chairs
Essay

How to Get Rid of Chairs

Dilemmas of the Independent Performing Arts Sector in Romania

15 April 2017

Iulia Popovici writes about independent theatre in Romania.

“How was Romania?”
Essay

“How was Romania?”

Reflections on the Temps D’Image Festival in Cluj

2 April 2017

A report on the Temps D’Image Festival in Cluj, Romania, from the perspectives of “Surfing” fellows Sydonia Lucchesi, Sam Silbiger, and Taysha Canales.

The Status of Creative Freedom in Romania
Essay

The Status of Creative Freedom in Romania

27 March 2017

Ioana Tamas discusses the status of artists in Romania, in this installment of the series leading up to the IETM Plenary Meeting in Bucharest.

What Do We Really Want? Creating a Union for Actors in Romania
Essay

What Do We Really Want? Creating a Union for Actors in Romania

20 March 2017

In this installment of a new series leading up to the IETM Plenary Meeting in Bucharest, Theodor-Cristian Popescu writes about being an actor in Romania.

Encountering Eastern Europe
Essay

Encountering Eastern Europe

4 March 2017

Jamie Gahlon, Senior Creative Producer of HowlRound, reports on a trip she took in fall 2016 to explore, deepen, and build partnerships with theatremakers and organizations in Eastern Europe.

Performance of Parental Ctrl by Groundfloor Group (Romania)
Video

Performance of Parental Ctrl by Groundfloor Group (Romania)

Saturday 8 October 2016

The 21st edition of Konfrontacje Festival in Lublin, Poland presented a performance of Parental Ctrl by Groundfloor Group (Romania) livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 8 October at 18:00 CEST (Berlin) / 19:00 EEST (Bucharest) / 5 p.m. BST (London) / 16:00 UTC / 12 p.m. EDT (New York) / 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco). Follow @HowlRoundTV and @konfrontacje on Twitter for updates. 

Reading of Gianina Carbunariu’s Mihaela, the Tiger of Our Town (Romania)
Video

Reading of Gianina Carbunariu’s Mihaela, the Tiger of Our Town (Romania)

Monday 14 December 2015
New York, NY, United States

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented a reading of Gianina Carbunariu’s Mihaela, the Tiger of Our Town (Romania) livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 14 December at 3:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 5:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 6:30 p.m. EST (New York). In Twitter, use #howlround to join the conversation.

Performances in the Temps d’Images Festival / Independent Performing Arts Platform
Video

Performances in the Temps d’Images Festival / Independent Performing Arts Platform

Thursday 12 November - Saturday 14 November 2015
Cluj, Romania

Temps d’Images Festival / Independent Performing Arts Platform in Cluj, Romania presented She’s a Good Boy by Compania 28, Cunthate [ură] by BÉZNĂ Theatre, and Domestic Products livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 12 November to Saturday 14 November. In Twitter, use #howlround and follow @HowlRoundTV

Cosmin Manolescu & Mihaela Dancs’ Piece with limited responsibility at The National Dance Center Bucharest’s LIKE CNDB # 1 Festival
Video

Cosmin Manolescu & Mihaela Dancs’ Piece with limited responsibility at The National Dance Center Bucharest’s LIKE CNDB # 1 Festival

Saturday 21 March 2015
Bucharest, Romania

The National Dance Center Bucharest, Romania presents Cosmin Manolescu & Mihaela Dancs’ Piece with limited responsibility livestreamed from the LIKE CNDB #1 Festival on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 21 March at 10:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 12:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 17:30 GMT/UTC (London) / 18:30 CET (Paris) / 19:30 EET (Bucharest). 

Inviting Them In
Essay

Inviting Them In

Writing as an Act of Communion

11 March 2015

Romanian playwright Peca Ştefan discusses a project to research and engage with residents to tell the stories of towns throughout Romania.

a painting of a woman falling
Eugen Jebeleanu's Hotel 
Video

Eugen Jebeleanu's Hotel 

A Non-Verbal Theatre Performance from the Temps d’Images Festival

Sunday 16 November 2014
Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Colectiv A in Cluj-Napoca, Romania presented Hotel, a non-verbal theatre performance representative of the Romanian New Performance Wave  livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 16 November at 10:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 1:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 18:30 GMT (London) / 20:30 EET (Bucharest).

four actors posing
Performance of Paul Dunca’s Institute of Change from the Temps d’Images Festival
Video

Performance of Paul Dunca’s Institute of Change from the Temps d’Images Festival

Friday 14 November 2014
Cluj-Napoca, Romania

ColectivA in Cluj-Napoca, Romania presented Institute of Change, a non-conventional performance on gender identity, sexual, and gender taboos in contemporary Romania, based on a concept by Paul Dunca at The Independent Platform of Performing Arts/ Temps d’Images Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 14 November at 10:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 1:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 18:30 GMT (London) / 20:30 EET (Bucharest)

Photo from Faust.
Dialogue, Diversity, and Quality—A Report From the Sibiu International Theatre Festival
Essay

Dialogue, Diversity, and Quality—A Report From the Sibiu International Theatre Festival

1 July 2014

Mark Jackson reports on the "format and the values" he witnessed in Romania at the Sibiu International Theatre Festival, which is the third largest theater festival in the world.

Portrait of Gianina Carbunariu.
New Trends in Romanian Theater
Essay

New Trends in Romanian Theater

Interview with Gianina Cărbunariu

12 December 2013

But what interested me in that scene, besides the actual incredible fact that in a Romanian city somebody had decided to build, in 2011, a wall between “white people” and “gypsies,” was the current Romanian political discourse. And I was interested in whom I was addressing too. I realized that I was speaking, just like the current political discourse, to a middle-class of which I was a part.

How much present? Romanian theater in (Eastern) European context
Essay

How much present? Romanian theater in (Eastern) European context

11 December 2013

Andrea Tompa offers insight into the history of theatre in Romania and how it impacts its present.

A Romanian crest.
Romania from the Outside
Essay

Romania from the Outside

11 December 2013

This series presents perspectives on contemporary theater in Romania. It is curated by Iulia Popovici, who recently concluded a month long ArtsLink residency at HowlRound.