Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 16 December 2012 3 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 5 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 6 p.m. EST (New York) / 23:00 GMT / (Monday 17 December at 10 a.m. EDT in Sydney).

San Francisco, CA, United States
Sunday 16 December 2012

3rd Annual San Francisco One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) at Playwrights Foundation

Produced With
Sunday 16 December 2012

The One-Minute Play Festival and Playwrights Foundation presented a performance of The 3rd Annual San Francisco One-Minute Play Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 16 December 2012 3 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 5 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 6 p.m. EST (New York) / 23:00 GMT / (Monday 17 December at 10 a.m. EDT in Sydney).

Host or find a nearby Watch Party using this MeetUp tool— and use Twitter hashtags #1MPF and #howlround in Twitter to connect to the conversation.


Featuring Brand New One-Minute Plays by:
Trevor Allen, Tim Bauer, William Bivins, Erin M. Bregman, Eugenie Chan, Chris Chen, Victoria Chong Der, Anthony Clarvoe, Megan Cohen, Bennett Fisher, Elizabeth Gjelten, Garret Jon Groenveld, Lauren Gunderson, Daniel Heath, Chinaka Hodge, Joan Holden, Robert Henry Johnson, Lynne Kaufman, J.C. Lee, Jeffrey Lo, Aaron Loeb, Jonathan Luskin, Katie May, Patricia Milton, Marisela Treviño Orta, David Perez, Evelyn Jean Pine, Kenn Rabin, Geetha Reddy, Kate E. Ryan, Steven M. Salzman, Marissa Skudlarek, Jonathan Spector, Aimee Suzara, Brian Thorstenson, Arisa White, Kim Yaged, and Ignacio Zulueta.

Directed by:
Paul Cello, Desdemona Chiang, Jill MacLean Heavey, Susannah Martin, Ban Randle, Amy Clare Tasker, and Dawn Monique Williams.

Patrick Barresi, Hannah Bear, El Beh, Molly Benson, Steve Bologna, Christian Cagigal, Andrea Day, Sabrino De Mio, Siobhan Marie Doherty, Ben Fisher, Derek Fisher, Luisa Frasconi, Tim Gahan, Natalie Greene, Rosie Hallet, Maura Halloran, Sylvia Hathaway, Ryan Hayes, Kate Jones, Nathaniel Justaniano, Roy Landaverde, Daniel Martinez, Moongamackel, Sarah Moser, Ryan O'Donnell, Danielle Perata, Tim Redmond, Nesbyth Rieman, Vince Rodriquez, Josh Schell, Michelle Talgarow, Ulises Toledo, Nick Trengove, Megan Trout, Lisa Wang, and more!

Curated by:
Dominic D’Andrea



The One-Minute Play Festival (OMPF) is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by producing artistic director Dominic D’Andrea. OMPF works in partnership with theatres and organizations in cities across the country who share missions devoted to new plays and/or a community-specific focus. In each city, OMPF creates a locally sourced playwright-focused community event, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career.

The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective consciousness and the individual voice; and by giving a voice, through theatre, to the current collective conscious found in a specific region.

OMPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.

OMPF has partnered with theatres in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Brunswick, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, and New York. Current and past partnerships include: Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, INTAR Theatre, Playwrights’ Foundation, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, and others.

Some notable contributors to OMPF have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia R. Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Michael John Garces, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Jose Rivera, Lisa Loomer, Craig Lucas, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garces, along with over five-hundred famous and emerging writers.

Playwrights Foundation is dedicated to discovering and supporting local and national American playwrights across a broad spectrum of artistic and career positions, in the inception and development of new plays that speak to and from an increasingly diverse society. Founded on a deeply held belief that the relevance and vitality of American theatre depends upon a continual infusion of new work, Playwrights Foundation sustains a commitment to the playwright, who we regard as the creative wellspring of theatre.

Founded in 1976 by Robert Woodruff, the Playwrights Foundation is now recognized as one of the top six new play development centers in the country, and the only one of its scope on the West Coast, serving writers at all levels of career placement and artistic maturity. Through our programs we actively nurture and support exceptional contemporary playwrights at every stage of a play’s development and help them forge connections to producers. Our mandate is to offer a full range of programs that provide multiple points of entry for a diverse range of playwrights—at a low cost or free of charge—so they can readily access our services; take advantage of our expertise, resources, and connections across the nation; and learn from their artistic peers.

For three decades we have discovered and supported over three-hundred writers who have gone on to infuse the American theatre with vitality, innovation and relevance. Our award-winning alumni, first discovered early in their careers, include Sam Shepard, Philip Kan Gotanda, Amy Freed, Anne Galjour, Octavio Solis, John O’Keefe, Mac Wellman, Brighde Mullins, Bill Irwin, Migdalia Cruz, Anna Deaveare Smith, Paula Vogel, Maria Irene Fornes, David Henry Hwang, Naomi Iizuka, Brian Thorstenson, Prince Gomolvilas, Liz Duffy Adams, Christine Evans, Marcus Gardley, Sheila Callaghan, and Pulitzer Prize winner Nilo Cruz, among many others.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events


Add Comment
Newest First