Event Has Passed
Athens, Greece
Wednesday 25 to Thursday 26 September 2019

Add to Calendar

Analogio Theater Festival 2019

in Athens, Greece

Produced With
Produced By
Wednesday 25 to Thursday 26 September 2019

Events from the International Meeting on Ancient Greek Drama at the Analogio Theater Festival in Athens, Greece on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network on Wednesday 25 and Thursday 26 September 2019.

Wednesday 25 September

Ancient Greek Tragedy at the Intersection of Politics and Performance
International Academic Conference
3 a.m. - 10 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -4) / 07:00 - 14:30 UTC +0 / 8 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 09:00 - 16:30 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 10:00 - 17:30 EEST (Athens, UTC +3)

Participants:
Herman Altena: Translator, playwright, Artistic Director of Antiek Theater, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Mary Bairaktari: Postdoctoral researcher, Theatre Studies Department NKUA, translation and translatology instructor, French Language and Literature Department NKUA, Athens
Zoltan Balazs: Artistic Director of Maladype Theatre, Budapest, Hungary
Achilleas Chaldaiakis: Professor, Music Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Kaiti Diamantakou: Associate Professor, Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Eri Georgakaki: PhD Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Bharat Gupt: Trustee and Executive Member Indira Gandi National Center for the Arts, India
Sacchidanand Joshi: Secretary Indira Gandi National Center for the Arts, India
Atsushi Kakumoto: Theatre director, Artistic Director of “D’ uomo ex machina”, Japan
Menelaos Karantzas: Director, translator, PhD Candidate Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Pavlos Kavouras: Professor, Music Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Despina Kosmopoulou: Postdoctoral researcher, Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Vayos Liapis: Professor, Head of the Postgraduate Programme of Theatre Studies, Open University of Cyprus
Platon Mavromoustakos: Professor, Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens, Fellow International Research Centre Interweaving Performance Cultures Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Margarita Mellberg: Translator, Phd Lund University, Sweden
Sissy Papathanasiou: Art and culture historian, President of the Analogio International Institute, Director of Letters Hellenic Ministry of Culture, Athens
Ioanna Remediaki: Lecturer, Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Astrid Schenka: Translator, PhD Freie Universität Berlin, Research Associate International Research Centre Interweaving Performance Cultures Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Chrysothemis Stamatopoulou-Vasilakou: Professor, Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Archimandrite Michael Stathakis: Archaeologist, Athens; Anna Tabaki: Professor, Theatre Studies Department NKUA, Athens
Oliver Taplin: Emeritus Professor, Magdalen College Oxford, Emeritus Doctor Theatre Studies Department, England. «Enopé»: Audio Installation Curator: Panagiotis Velianitis, composer-music teacher.

Thursday 26 September

Presentation of the three tryout workshops: “Relocating Antigone”
4 a.m. - 6 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -4) / 8:00 - 10:00 UTC +0 / 9 a.m. - 11 a.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 10:00 - 12:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 11:00 - 13:00 EEST (Athens, UTC +3)

Panel discussion on “Translation & Directing Ancient Greek Drama today, Focused on Antigone”
7 a.m. - 9 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -4) / 11:00 -13:00 UTC +0 / 12 p.m. - 2 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 13:00 - 15:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 14:00 - 16:00 EEST (Athens, UTC +3)

Coordinator:
Professor Gad Kaynar-Kissinger
Participants:
Spyros Vrachoritis, director
Leandros Polenakis, author and President of the Union of Greek Critics for Drama and Music
Smaro Kotsia, theatre critic and member of the Hellenic Association of Theatre and Performing Arts Critics
The directors and the participants of the “Relocating Antigone” tryout workshops.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark