Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 3 August and Sunday 4 August 2013 7:15 a.m.-10 a.m. PDT / 9:15 a.m.-12 p.m. CDT / 10:15 a.m.-1 p.m. EDT / 14:15-17:00 GMT / 3:15 p.m.-6 p.m. BST / 4:15 p.m.-7 p.m. CEST

Ashfield, MA, United States
Saturday 3 August and Sunday 4 August 2013

Art & Survival Convening at Double Edge Theatre

Produced With
Saturday 3 August and Sunday 4 August 2013

 

Thumbnail

Double Edge Theatre in Ashfield, Massachusetts presented the Art and Survival Convening livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 3 August and Sunday 4 August 2013.

Convened by Matthew Glassman with Amrita Ramanan, Polly Carl, Morgan Jenness, Michael Rohd, RJ Maccani, and Javiera Benavente.
 
During this two-day convening, artists, scholars, and practitioners from across the country deepened connections between cells of guerilla (and other) activities, uncover resources, and expand perceptions through public discussions and intimate gatherings around food, drink, and performance. Some of the questions we explored include: How do we consider the survival of our community, ecology and artistry? How do art and activism become resilient together? What are the collaborations where theatre, culture and other fields are equal partners?
 
In-person participants:
 
Amrita Ramanan (Double Edge Theatre), Nick Slie (Mondo Bizzaro), Clyde Valentin (Hip Hop Theater Festival), Stacy Klein (Double Edge Theatre), Christal Brown (INSPIRIT), Morgan Jenness (Freelance Dramaturg and Creative Consultant; Puppet Guild of Occupy Wall Street) and RJ Maccani (The Foundry Theatre), Michael Premo (Occupy Wall Street; Sandy House Storyline), Rachel Falcone (Story Corps), Murielle Borst Tarrant (Spiderwoman Theater), Lenina Nadal (Right to the City), Polly Carl and Vijay Mathew (HowlRound), Michael Rohd (Sojourn Theatre; Northwestern University), Mark Valdez (Network of Ensemble Theaters), Aaron Landsman (Artist and Co-Creator of City Council Meeting), Laura Zabel (Springboard for the Arts), Marty Pottenger (Art at Work), and Carlton Turner (Alternate Roots).
 
To participate in online conversation, use Twitter hashtag #howlround and follow @HowlRoundTV.
 
Livestream schedule:
 
Saturday 3 August
 
  • Survival and Evolution of Artist, Artistry, Aesthetics, Group and Community at 7:15 a.m.-10 a.m. PDT / 9:15 a.m.-12 p.m. CDT / 10:15 a.m.-1 p.m. EDT / 14:15-17:00 GMT / 3:15 p.m.-6 p.m. BST / 4:15 p.m.-7 p.m. CEST

  • Art and Activism in Times of Upheaval at 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m. PDT / 1 p.m.-3:30 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m.-4:30 p.m. EDT / 18:00-20:30 GMT / 7 p.m.-9:30 p.m. BST / 8 p.m.-10:30 CEST

 

  • Nancy Ellen Abrams and Joel Primack, authors of The New Universe and the Human Future at 1 p.m. PDT/ 3 p.m. CDT / 4 p.m. EDT / 20:00 GMT

 

Sunday 4 August

  • Breaking down Boundaries: Cross-Sector Collaborations at 7 a.m.-9:30 a.m. PDT / 9 a.m.-11:30 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m.-12:30 p.m. EDT / 14:00-16:30 GMT / 3 p.m.-5:30 p.m. BST / 4 p.m.-6:30 p.m. CEST

  • Culture Coin Prototyping Workshop on Valuing Underutilized Resources

 
About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

 

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First