fbpx BITEF and Cultural Diplomacy: Theatre Festivals and Geopolitics | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page 09:45 CEST Saturday 1 October and Sunday 2 October (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 8:45am BST (London) / 07:45 UTC / 3:45am EDT (New York.

Belgrade, Serbia
Saturday 1 October - Sunday 2 October 2016

Add to Calendar

BITEF and Cultural Diplomacy: Theatre Festivals and Geopolitics

Saturday 1 October - Sunday 2 October 2016

 

Thumbnail

The Conference BITEF and Cultural Diplomacy: Theatre Festivals and Geopolitics livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 1 October and Sunday 2 October from Belgrade, Serbia. In Twitter, follow @howlroundtv@Biteffestival, and use #howlround#bitef

The conference is a collaborative project of the BITEF Festival and UNESCO Chair in Cultural Policy and Management of the University of Arts in Belgrade, Serbia.

Livestream Schedule:

Saturday 1 October

Opening
09:30 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 8:30 a.m. BST (London) / 07:30 UTC / 3:30 a.m. EDT (New York) 

  • Minister of Culture and Information of the Republic of Serbia, Vladan Vukosavljević
  • Rector of the University of Arts in Belgrade, Zoran Erić
  • Director of Atelje 212, Branimir Brstina
  • Serbian UNESCO Commission, Goran Milašinović

Mira Trailović, Inspiration and Role-Model - 50 Years
09:45 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 8:45am BST (London) / 07:45 UTC / 3:45am EDT (New York)
Presented by Milena Dragićević Šešić (Serbia).

BITEF and Cultural Diplomacy: A View to the Future
10:15 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 9:15 a.m. BST (London) / 08:15 UTC / 4:15 a.m. EDT (New York)
Presented by Ivan Medenica (Serbia).

 

 

BITEF and its Meaning for Theatre in the Soviet Union and Russia
10:25 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 9:25 a.m. BST (London) / 08:25 UTC / 4:25 a.m. EDT (New York)
Presented by Mikhail Shvydkoy (Russia).

Hugo de Greef (Belgium)
10:55 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 9:55 a.m. BST (London) / 08:55 UTC / 4:55 a.m. EDT (New York)

 

 


Performing Arts and Geopolitical Challenges // semi-plenary panel
11:45-13:15 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m. BST (London
) / 09:45-11:15 UTC / 5:45 a.m.-7:15 a.m. EDT (New York)

 

  • Chair: Ksenija Radulović (Serbia)
  • Participants: Aleksandra Jovićević (Italy/Serbia), Anja Suša (Serbia), Barbara Orel (Slovenia), Radivoje Dinulović (Serbia), David Diamond (USA), Vlado Milchin (Macedonia)

 

 

Culture & Diplomacy (in English) // semi-plenary panel
14:00-15:30 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 1pm-2:30 p.m. BST (London) / 12:00-1:30 UTC / 8 a.m.-9:30 a.m. EDT (New York)

  • Chair: Jonathan Vickery (United Kingdom)
  • Participants: Pawel Potoroczyn (Poland), Mike van Graan (South Africa), Borka Pavićević (Serbia), Darko Lukić (Croatia)

 

 

Bottom-Up Cultural Diplomacy
16:00-17:30 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 3 p.m.-4:30 p.m. BST (London) / 2:00-3:30 UTC / 10 a.m.-11:30 a.m. EDT (New York)

  • Chair: Ljiljana Rogač Mijatović (Serbia)
  • Participants: Jonatan Stanczak (Palestine), Daniela Urem (Croatia), Biljana Tanurovska Kjulavkovski (Macedonia), Marijana Cvetković (Serbia)

 

 

Sunday 2 October

Are We Multicultural, Transcultural, Pluralist, or just Internationalist? Culture, Mobility, and Political Ideology
09:30-10:30 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 8:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. BST (London) / 07:30-08:30 UTC / 3:30 a.m.-4:30 a.m. EDT (New York) 
Chair:  Vida Ognjenović (Serbia), Jonathan Vickery (United Kingdom).

 

 

Cultural Diplomacy from Below: Artistic Projects with Refugees and Migrants
10:30-11:15 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 9:30 a.m.-10:15 a.m. BST (London) / 08:30-09:15 UTC / 4:30 a.m.-5:15 a.m. EDT (New York) 
Presented by 
Monika Mokre (Austria)

 

 

Performing Arts Festivals in the Time of Changing Geopolitics
11:45-13:15 CEST (Belgrade, UTC+2) / 10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m. BST (London) / 09:45-11:15 UTC / 5:45 a.m.-7:15 a.m. EDT (New York)

  • Chair: Biljana Tanurovska Kjulavkovski (Macedonia)
  • Participants: Ivana Stefanović (Serbia), Dijana Milošević (Serbia), Jovanka Višekruna Janković (Serbia); Diana Kržanić Tepavac (Serbia)

 

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.