Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Thursday 20 June to Saturday 22 June 2013 6 a.m. PDT / 8 a.m. CDT / 9 a.m. EDT 

Miami, FL, United States
Thursday 20 June to Saturday 22 June 2013.

CityWrights: A Professional Weekend for Playwrights at the City Theatre

Produced With
Thursday 20 June to Saturday 22 June 2013.
Thumbnail
City Theatre in Miami, Florida hosted CityWrights 2013—CityWrights: A Professional Weekend for Playwrights livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 20 June to Saturday 22 June 2013.
 
To participate in discussion, use Twitter hashtag #howlround and follow @CityTheatreFL and @HowlRoundTV for updates.
 
Livestreaming Schedule (subject to change
 
Thursday 20 June at 6 a.m. PDT / 8 a.m. CDT / 9 a.m. EDT 
  • When Does A Playwright Need A Lawyer? Valuable information for playwrights on issues of rights, protection and legal representation. Moderator: Kelly Melchiondo. Dave Faux (Dramatists Guild), Laura Bruney (Arts & Business Council, Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts Miami).
 
Thursday 20 June at 7 a.m. PDT / 9 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. EDT
  • All About Samuel French. Led by Amy Marsh. Getting Published, E-Publishing, the Samuel French Institute and Samuel French’s off-off Broadway Festival. With SF Playwrights Robert Caisley, Matt Hoverman, Deborah Yarchun & Steve Yockey.
 
Thursday 20 June at 8 a.m. PDT / 10 a.m. CDT / 11 a.m. EDT
  • Where Writers Develop Work (Round Table). David Bar Katz—LABryinth Theatre Company, Lauren Gunderson—Primary Stages, Tina Howe—The Lark, Sheri Wilner & Leslie Ayvazian—Writing Groups. Moderator: Nan Barnett.
 
Thursday 20 June at 10:15 a.m. PDT / 12:15 p.m. CDT / 1:15 p.m. EDT
  • Importing Talent: Immigration Issues in the Arts. Attorneys Glenn Rissman and Michael Benchetrit
 
Thursday 20 June at 12:15 p.m. PDT / 2:15 p.m. CDT / 3:15 p.m. EDT
  • When Does a Lawyer Need a Playwright? Telling Your Story & Presenting It Well. The Act of Communication In Court. Robert Caisley, Playwright, Geri Satin, Consultant, Gail Garrisan, Stage Director.
 
Friday 21 June at 6 a.m. PDT / 8 a.m. CDT / 9 a.m. EDT
  • Don’t Be A Floozy: The Author Bill of Rights—Dave Faux
 
Friday 21 June at 10:30 a.m. PDT / 12:30 p.m. CDT / 1:30 p.m. EDT
  • Is It A Screen/Play? A Panel on Writing for the Stage, Screen & Internet. Leslie Ayvazian, David Bar Katz, Steve Yockey, Bruce Miller. Moderator: Robert Caisley
 
Friday 21 June at 11:30 a.m. PDT / 1:30 p.m. CDT / 2:30 p.m. EDT
  • Meet the Masters Panel: DGF Traveling Masters Rachel Routh & Tina Howe. CityWrights Masters Lauren Gunderson & Steve Yockey. Moderated by Nan Barnett.
 
Friday 21 June at 12:30 p.m. PDT / 2:30 p.m. CDT / 3:30 p.m. EDT
  • Round Table with the Summer Shorts Festival Playwrights Leslie Ayvazian, Kendra Blevins, Holly Hepp-Galvan, Matt Hoverman, David Bar Katz, Nina Mansfield, Sheri Wilner, Steve Yockey. Moderators: John Manzelli & Susi Westfall
 
Saturday 22 June at 7 a.m. PDT / 9 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. EDT
  • Selected Readings from National Finalist, and Excerpts from Matt Hoverman’s Broadway Bound play
 
Saturday 22 June at 8 a.m. PDT / 10 a.m. CDT / 11 a.m. EDT
  • Inside the National New Play Network with Nan Barnett, Steve Yockey, Robert Caisley, Ricky Martinez (New Theatre)
 
Saturday 22 June at 9 a.m. PDT / 11 a.m. CDT / 12 p.m. EDT
  • Women’s Voices Heard: Tina Howe & Sheri Wilner
 
Saturday 22 June at 11 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. EDT
  • Wrighters Block: Creating the Solo Show with Matt Hoverman
 
About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First