Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Thursday 14 June - Saturday 16 June 2012 17:00-18:30 GMT / 10 a.m.-11:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 1 p.m.-2:30 p.m. EDT (Washington DC) / 6 p.m.-7:30 p.m. BST (London) / 7 p.m.-8:30 p.m. CEST (Paris) / 8 p.m.-9:30 p.m. AST (Baghdad) / 10 p.m.-11:30 p.m. PKT (Lahore). 

Washington, D.C., United States
Thursday 14 June - Saturday 16 June 2012

Convening on Global Performance at Georgetown University Theater

Thursday 14 June - Saturday 16 June 2012

 

Thumbnail

The Georgetown University Theater and Performance Studies Program hosted an invited convening on Global Performance, Civic Imagination, and Cultural Diplomacy livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 14 June - Saturday 16 June 2012.

This dynamic gathering, supported by the Georgetown University Reflective Engagement in the Public Interest Grant, brought together more than fifty theater artists, policymakers, government officials, activists, cultural leaders, educators, journalists, and scholars from around the world, as well as Georgetown University faculty, students, and alumni.

Led by Georgetown’s Derek Goldman, Artistic Director of the Davis Performing Arts Center and Professor of Theater and Performance Studies, and Cynthia P. Schneider, Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy, the three-day convening explored how to maximize the potential of theater and performance in the context of international challenges, and how to bridge the gap between the worlds of foreign policy and global performance. For more details about the convening, click here.

The following sessions were livestreamed on HowlRound TV. To participate in online discussion during the events, put the hashtag "#globalperformance" in your Twitter messages. 

THURSDAY, JUNE 14
Session 1: DC: A Laboratory for Global Performance and Engagement
17:00-18:30 GMT / 10 a.m.-11:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 1 p.m.-2:30 p.m. EDT (Washington DC) / 6 p.m.-7:30 p.m. BST (London) / 7 p.m.-8:30 p.m. CEST (Paris) / 8 p.m.-9:30 p.m. AST (Baghdad) / 10 p.m.-11:30 p.m. PKT (Lahore). 

Moderated by Derek Goldman, Artistic Director, Davis Performing Arts Center & Professor, Theater and Performance Studies, Georgetown University.

 

Alicia Adams, Vice President for International Programming, The Kennedy Center
Michael Dove, Artistic Director, Forum Theatre
Adrien-Alice Hansel Literary Director, Studio Theatre
Chris Jennings, Managing Director, Shakespeare Theatre Company
Shirley Serotsky, Director of Literary and Public Programs, Theater J
Andy Shallal, Founding Owner, Busboys and Poets; Co-Founder, The Peace Cafe
David Snider, Director of Artistic Programming, Arena Stage
Miriam Weisfield, Director of Artistic Development, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company
Commentator: Peter Marks, The Washington Post

Session 2: The Local/National/Global Continuum
18:45-20:00 GMT / 11:45 a.m.-1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 2:45 p.m.-4 p.m. EDT (Washington DC) / 7:45 p.m.-9 p.m. BST (London) / 8:45 p.m.-10 p.m. CEST (Paris) / 9:45 p.m.-11 p.m. AST (Baghdad) / 11:45 p.m.-1 a.m. PKT (Lahore).

Moderated by Daniel Banks, Co-Director, Theatre Without Borders; Co-Director of DNAWORKS; Faculty, M.A. in Applied Theatre, City University of New York.

 

Christine Evans, Australian Playwright; Assistant Professor, Theater and Performance Studies, Georgetown University
Jonathan Hollander, Artistic Director, Battery Dance Company
Pam Korza, Co-Director, Animating Democracy/Americans for the Arts
Jennifer Nelson, Director of Special Programming, Ford’s Theatre; Adjunct Professor, Theater and Performance Studies, Georgetown University
Christina Scheppelmann,  Director of Artistic Operations, Washington National Opera
Commentator: Diane Ragsdale, former Program Officer, Performing Arts, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Session 3: Global Theatre Meets Global Politics
20:15-21:45 GMT / 1:15 p.m.-2:45 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 4:15 p.m.-5:45 p.m. EDT (Washington DC) / 9:15 p.m.-10:45 p.m. BST (London) / 10:15 p.m.-11:45 p.m. CEST (Paris) / 11:15 p.m.-12:45 a.m. AST (Baghdad).

Moderated by Cynthia P. Schneider, Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy, Georgetown University.

 

Presentation:
Shahid Nadeem, Pakistani Playwright and Director

Roundtable:
Nicholas Cull, Professor of Public Diplomacy, University of Southern California
Nicolas Kent, Director, The Great Game; former Artistic Director, Tricycle Theatre
Susan Loewenberg, Producing Director, LA Theatre Works
Sharon Memis, Director, British Council
Commentators: Alyse Nelson, President and CEO, Vital Voices & Paul Foldi, Senior Professional Staff Member, Senate and Foreign Relations Committee

Performance of a new Iraqi Arabic translation of 9 Parts of Desire by Heather Raffo 

 

00:00 GMT (Fri, June 15) / 5 p.m. PDT (on Thurs, June 14 Los Angeles) / 7 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8 p.m. EDT (Washington DC)

FRIDAY, JUNE 15

Session 4: Opportunities and Challenges in the Arab and Muslim World 10:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. EDT (Washington DC)
moderated by Cynthia P. Schneider (Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy, Georgetown University)

 

Presentation:
Marvin Carlson (Distinguished Professor of Theatre, Comparative Literature and Middle Eastern Studies, City University of New York)
Roundtable:
JJ El-Far and Tracy Francis (Co-Directors, Hybrid Theatre Works)
Rubén Polendo (Artistic Director, Theater Mitu; Theater Program Director, NYU – Abu Dhabi)
Waleed Shamil (Assistant Professor, Baghdad University; Adaptor/Director, 9 Parts of Desire)
Torange Yeghiazarian (Artistic Director, Golden Thread Productions)
Commentator: Haleh Esfandiari (Director of the Middle East Program, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars) and Nadia Oweidat (DPhil Candidate, Arab and Islamic Studies, Oxford University; former Analyst, RAND Corporation)

Session 5: Opportunities and Challenges in Africa 11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. EDT (Washington DC)
moderated by Roberta Levitow (Co-Founder and Co-Director, Theatre Without Borders; Artistic Associate, Sundance Institute East Africa)

 

Presentation:
Ping Chong (Artistic Director, Ping Chong & Company)
Roundtable:
Belayneh Abune (Professor, Addis Ababa University)
Daniel Banks (Co-Director, Theatre Without Borders; Co-Director of DNAWORKS; Faculty, M.A. in Applied Theatre, City University of New York)
Carole Brzozowski (University Arts Presenter, Syracuse University)
D. Soyini Madison (Chair, Department of Performance Studies, and Director of Oral History and Performance as Social Action with the Program of African Studies, Northwestern University)
Commentator: Carol Lancaster (Dean of the School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University)

Session 6: The Next Generation: Curricular Approaches 2:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. EDT (Washington DC)
moderated by DEREK GOLDMAN (Artistic Director, Davis Performing Arts Center, and Professor, Theater and Performance Studies, Georgetown University)

 

Presentation:
Emma Clark (School of Foreign Service and Theater and Performance Studies, Class of 2013, Georgetown University)
Roundtable:
Shiloh Krupar (Assistant Professor, Culture and Politics, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University)
Erwin Maas (Director of Performing Arts, Netherlands Cultural Services USA)
Joseph Megel (Faculty Artist in Residence, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Co-Artistic Director, StreetSigns Center for Literature and Performance)
Juanita Rockwell (Founding Director, MFA in Theatre, Towson University)
Maya Roth (Director and Associate Professor, Theater and Performance Studies, Georgetown University)
Commentator: John Voll (Professor of Islamic History and Associate Director of the Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding, Georgetown University)

Session 7: Making it Happen: Partnerships and Models 3:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. EDT (Washington DC)

 

Moderated by Derek Goldman (Artistic Director, Davis Performing Arts Center, and Professor, Theater and Performance Studies, Georgetown University) and Cynthia P. Schneider (Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy, Georgetown University)
Cynthia Cohen (Director of the Program in Peacebuilding and the Arts, Brandeis University)
Jonathan Hollander (Artistic Director, Battery Dance Company)
Chris Jennings (President, International Theatre Institute (TCG) and Managing Director, Shakespeare Theatre Company)
Todd Lester (Executive Director, Global Arts Corps)
Roberta Levitow (Co-Founder and Co-Director, Theatre Without Borders; Artistic Associate, Sundance Institute East Africa)
Joanna Sherman (Artistic Director, Bond Street Theatre)

 

SATURDAY, JUNE 16

Morning Closing Session
14:15-16:00 GMT / 7:15 a.m.-9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 10:15 a.m.-12 p.m. EDT (Washington DC) / 3:15 p.m.-5 p.m. BST (London) / 4:15 p.m.-6 p.m. CEST (Paris) / 5:15 p.m.-7 p.m. AST (Baghdad) / 7:15 p.m.-9 p.m. PKT (Lahore).
Moderated by Derek Goldman and and Cynthia P. Schneider.

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First