fbpx CultureHub Belgrade Convening | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page from Thursday 1 July to Saturday 3 July 2021.

Belgrade, Serbia
Thursday 1 July to Saturday 3 July 2021

CultureHub Belgrade Convening

Centering around the theme Solidarity: Digital Strategies for Creative Resilience

Produced With
Thursday 1 July to Saturday 3 July 2021

CultureHub presented the CultureHub Belgrade Convening livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Thursday 1 July to Saturday 3 July 2021.

Centering around the theme Solidarity: Digital Strategies for Creative Resilience, the CultureHub Belgrade Convening is a platform for artists, technologists, educators, and activists to share and disseminate digital methodologies for art-making and cultural exchange.

Hosted by CultureHub and Eho Animato in partnership with La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club, Seoul Institute of the Arts, and American Corners in Serbia, the Convening will take place in Belgrade July 1–3, 2021, sparking new relationships and opportunities for international collaboration and cultural exchange that are flexible and responsive to crisis by design.

The CultureHub Belgrade Convening merges the in-person with the digital, and local with global to explore the future of art making and international collaboration. Over the course of 3 days, the CultureHub team will conduct workshops and trainings, supporting local actions and performances and sparking new relationships.

The CultureHub Belgrade Convening will have nightly livestreams with performances and discussions which will be accessible by an international audience.

Thursday 1 July

 

International Screenings & Long Table Discussion
9 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 2 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 15:00 CEST (Belgrade, UTC +2)
A selection of highlights from CultureHub and La MaMa's Downtown Variety, an online live performance series that features short acts of dance, music, theater, new media, comedy, and A/V performance from artists around the globe followed by Long Table Discussion about digital strategies for fostering solidarity and creative resilience.

Friday 2 July

International Live Performances & Long Table Discussion
1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 6 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 19:00 CEST (Belgrade, UTC +2)
A series of short live performances in person from Belgrade and telematically by connecting to the CultureHub studio in New York followed by an International Long Table Discussion on mediated and technologically informed performance in the pandemic era. Performers include John King, Krzysztof Garbaczewski, Shauna Davis, Zeljko Maksimovic, Marija Kovacina in Belgrade, and Tiri Kananuruk in New York.

Saturday 3 July

 

Work-in-Progress Showings from the CultureHub Belgrade Convening
1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 6 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 19:00 CEST (Belgrade, UTC +2)
A series of short performances devised by CultureHub Belgrade Convening Participants over the course of the convening.

The CultureHub Belgrade Convening is supported in part by the Trust for Mutual Understanding.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark