Event Has Passed

Des Voix...A Festival of Contemporary French Playwrights in Translation at Playwrights Foundation—Friday 25 May to Sunday 27 May 2012

Playwrights Foundation presents Des Voix...Found in Translation: A Festival of Contemporary French Playwrights in Translation featuring plays by Marion Aubert, Nathalie Fillion, and Samuel Gallet, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday 25 May to Sunday 27 May 2012.

Go here for complete information about the festival. 

1) Live at the Z Space, presented in association with LitQuake

Friday, May 25 at 7:30 p.m. PDT / 9:30 p.m. CDT / 10:30 p.m. EDT

 

Bal Littéraire, A New Play Nightclub a work by Octavio Solis, Marcus Gardley, Liz Duffy Adams, Samuel Gallet, Marion Aubert, Nathalie Fillion who will collaborate to create, and perform a Bal Littéraire for the first time in the United States.

2) Sunday, May 27 at 11 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. EDT / 18:00 GMT / 7 p.m. BST / 8 p.m. CEST  Discussion: The International Playwright
How has the role of playwright changed over the past ten years? What do we project for the future role of playwrights in contemporary theatre?

 

A conversation, hosted by Amy Mueller about the role, present and future, of the international playwright in theatre. Participants include Robert Avila of Beyond the Capitals, Philip Arnoult, Marion Aubert, Nathalie Fillion, Samuel Gallet, Liz Duffy Adams, Marcus Gardley, Lachlan Phillpott (Australian playwright in residence at Playwrights Foundation), Duca Knezevic from the former Yugoslavia, and five Russian theatre producers. 

3) Sunday, May 27 at 1pm PDT / 3pm CDT / 4pm EDT / 20:00 GMT / 9pm BST / 10pm CEST

Panel Discussion: Translating Expressionistic, Non-Linear Contemporary Work

 

Foremost Francophile dramatic translator Judith Miller convenes this panel to discuss contemporary issues in translating plays by young, emerging playwrights who invent language and syntax in their own languages. How does a translator work to convey the intangible nuances of form? How can deep patois, and language (similar to Eubonics) be translated into a different language? How does the translator make decisions about place and time? These and other questions will be discussed with Laurent Muhleisen, Artistic Director of Maison Antoine Vitez, and the translators from the Festival Rob MelroseEmily-Jane Cohen, Michelle HanerKimberley Jannarone, and Erik Butler.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First