Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Friday 13 October at 12:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 11:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco).

Cambridge, MA, United States
Friday 13 October 2017

El Amor en Tiempos de Trump: Queer of Color Criticism and Performance Conference

Friday 13 October 2017

 

Thumbnail

Tufts University presented El Amor en Tiempos de Trump: Queer of Color Criticism and Performance Conference livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer producteHowlRound.TV network on Friday 13 October at 12:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 11:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco).

Share your thoughts and media with hashtag #TuftsRCD2017 and #howlround in all social media platforms.

This day-long workshop brings together scholars and artists working at the intersections of race, sexuality, and performance to consider the creative practices of minoritarian subjects in the pursuit of pleasure, community, health, and survival.

Visitors and participants with questions or concerns are invited to contact Kareem Khubchandani Mellon Assistant Professor of Drama & Dance and Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies.

Welcome + Keynote
12:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 11:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

"Diasporic Divas: Working Sex, Transing Biography" by Juana Maria Rodriguez (University of California, Berkeley)

 



Get Well Soon: on class and disability
2:15 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:15 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Moderated by Nishant Upadhyay (UMass Dartmouth)
NIC Kay
Chandan Reddy (University of Washington)
Jina Kim (Mt. Holyoke College)
Stefan Pennington (Tufts University)

 



El Amor...: erotics, ecstacy, and the body
4:15 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:15 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Moderated by Dasha Chapman (Hampshire College) 
Victor I. Cares
Tan Hoang Nguyen (University of California San Diego)
Aliyyah Abdur-Rahman (Brandeis University)
Lilian Mengesha (Brown University)

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First