fbpx The Gaza Monologues Presented by Theatre of the Oppressed NYC | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreaming on this page on Wednesday 29 November 2023 at 2 p.m. HST (Honolulu, UTC -10) / 3 p.m. AKST (Juneau, UTC -9) / 4 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 6 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 7 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5).

United States
Wednesday 29 November 2023

The Gaza Monologues Presented by Theatre of the Oppressed NYC

A response to ASHTAR Theatre's urgent request to publicly read or perform The Gaza Monologues on The International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People.

Wednesday 29 November 2023
Remote video URL

ASHTAR Theatre launched an urgent request to its friends and theatremakers around the world to publicly read or perform The Gaza Monologues—testimonies written by ASHTAR youth in 2010, highlighting the fears, hopes, and resilience of Gazans—on 29 November, The International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People. This event was Theatre of the Oppressed NYC's response to that request. 

Please join us to hear a selection of the monologues performed live in English, Arabic, and Spanish.

This event was free, but donations to ASHTAR Theatre's psycho-social relief intervention program in the West Bank continue to be encouraged. 

For more information about The Gaza Monologues and ASHTAR Theatre's work, please contact [email protected].

This event was presented by Theatre of the Oppressed NYC in partnership with ASHTAR Theatre, Friends of ASHTAR NYC, Radical Evolution, The People's Forum, and the Palestinian Youth Movement.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email [email protected] or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First

Subscribe to HowlRound

Sign up for our daily, weekly, or quarterly emails so you never miss the latest theatre conversations.

Sign me up

Supporting HowlRound

We fundraise to keep all our programs free and open and to pay our contributors. Thank you to all who make our work possible!

Donate today