Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 11 October 2020 at 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 11 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 16:00 BST (London, UTC +1) / 17:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 18:00 EEST (Bucharest, UTC +3).

Bucharest, Romania
Sunday 11 October 2020

Performance: Mother (Romania)

A musical performance which follows how a community is reconstructed after a traumatic event.

Sunday 11 October 2020

National Modern Art Museum in Bucharest, Romania presented an open-air performance of Mother livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Sunday 11 October 2020 at 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 11 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 16:00 BST (London, UTC +1) / 17:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 18:00 EEST (Bucharest, UTC +3).

Is Mother a real healer or a crook?

Mother is the leader of a prosperous sect, one that speculated on natural disasters and rewrote passages from the Bible which blamed richness. Mother teaches us that salvation is equal to wealth. What does she really want to make us believe? The message is simple and brilliant: indeed, we are confronted with what Walter Benjamin called poverty of experience, we are constantly presented with a flow of pseudosciences, an inflation of self-development books, but the dazzling flow of information is nothing but our own fear of the void.

Performers: Oana Rusu, Maria Sgârcitu
Script, direction: Mihai Lukács
Scenic design: Alex Horghidan, Mișa Dumitriu
Music, lyrics: Maria Sgârcitu

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First