Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 23 October at 7:30 p.m. BST (London) / 18:30 UTC / 2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30am PDT (Los Angeles) / 20:30 CEST (Berlin) / 21:30 MSK (Minsk/Moscow)

London, UK
Sunday 23 October 2016

Add to Calendar

Re-play Performance of Belarus Free Theatre’s Tomorrow I Was Always a Lion

Arcola Theatre

Produced With
Sunday 23 October 2016

 

Thumbnail

Belarus Free Theatre in association with The Albany presented a video replay performance of Tomorrow I Was Always a Lion from the Arcola Theatre in London, UK on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 23 October at 7:30 p.m. BST (London) / 18:30 UTC / 2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30am PDT (Los Angeles) / 20:30 CEST (Berlin) / 21:30 MSK (Minsk/Moscow)

On Twitter follow @BFreeTheatre, @HowlRoundTV, and use #AlwaysALion.

Tomorrow I Was Always a Lion is a theatrical investigation into the nature of psychosis and recovery. Based on the extraordinary memoir by Arnhild Lauveng, it tells a unique personal story of living with and recovering from schizophrenia.

This raw and imaginative new production explores Lauveng's controversial text to challenge our perception and understanding of the condition.

Read verity healey’s HowlRound article on the development of this show: Roads into Portrayals of Mental Health Onstage.

Belarus Free Theatre is the only theatre in Europe banned by its government on political grounds. Following BFT’s furious production of Sarah Kane’s 4.48 Psychosis, which is blacklisted in Belarus, BFT have fearlessly continued to use theatre to excavate social taboos. Tomorrow I Was Always a Lion continues this journey of provoking and challenging the deepest questions of our humanity.

Read more about schizophrenia and this show in Vladimir Shcherban's (director) piece in The Arts Desk.

Supported by The Wellcome Trust Arts Award, Cockayne—Grants for the Arts, and the London Community Foundation. Developed at Rose Bruford College of Theatre and Performance. Based on I morgen var jeg alltid en løve by Arnhild Lauveng. Reproduced with permission of Cappelen Damm and Skyhorse Publishing.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First