Theatre as Resistance
Essay

Theatre as Resistance

12 May 2017

Robert Stanton for #FairWageOnstage considers the recent success of negotiations for salary increases for Off-Broadway actors and how theatre can support and lead the resistance to oppressive political administrations.

Roads into Portrayals of Mental Health Onstage
Essay

Roads into Portrayals of Mental Health Onstage

07 October 2016

Frequent overseas contributor verity healey reports on the Belarus Free Theatre workshop exploring the intersection of how a true story about mental illness is portrayed on stage.

Power vs. Truth in Belarus Free Theatre’s Being Harold Pinter
Essay

Power vs. Truth in Belarus Free Theatre’s Being Harold Pinter

21 January 2016

verity healey reviews Belarus Free Theatre’s Being Harold Pinter at the Young Vic in London, England.

Pop Up Performance in a Dictatorship? No Problem!
Essay

Pop Up Performance in a Dictatorship? No Problem!

13 January 2016

verity healey offers an overview of pop up performances by Belarus Free Theatre’s studio Fortinbras, highlighting the treatment of disabled citizens in Belarus.

Should Torture Taste So Good? Belarus Free Theatre’s Trash Cuisine
Essay

Should Torture Taste So Good? Belarus Free Theatre’s Trash Cuisine

07 May 2015

Jonathan Mandell on Belarus Free Theatre's Trash Cuisine, playing through May 17 at La Mama ETC in New York City.

On Belarus and Theatre, Activism and Exile
Essay

On Belarus and Theatre, Activism and Exile

05 March 2015

In his last installment, Brendan McCall talks with Nicolai Khalezin, one of the founders of Belarus Free Theatre about art, exile, and if theatre has any impact on politics.

Theatre at Belarus’ University in Exile
Essay

Theatre at Belarus’ University in Exile

23 December 2014

In this installment, Brendan explores what happened when he directed some of the plays from the Belarusian Dream Theater at Belarus’ exiled university, resulting in differing perspectives.

Beyond Lukashenko
Essay

Beyond Lukashenko

New Short Plays About Belarus

03 November 2014

In addition to new works by Belarusian playwrights, writers as far-flung as Europe and the United States, Australia and New Zealand, ended up making excellent contributions. The Belarusian Dream Theater project linked playwrights with more than a dozen independent presenting groups in Europe and North America, who donated their time and talents to assemble the collaborators necessary to present as many of the twenty-five new plays as each group wanted.

Creating the Belarusian Dream Theater Project
Essay

Creating the Belarusian Dream Theater Project

19 September 2014

While I was reaping the benefits of working internationally, my Belarusian friends were living as a theater company in exile. What could I do to help make a difference? What tools could I use, as a theater artist, to break down this silence, censorship, and oppressive regime?

Belarus, Theater, and Breaking the Zones of Silence
Essay

Belarus, Theater, and Breaking the Zones of Silence

15 August 2014

I felt compelled to act, to do something, to speak up—but how? What could I, an expatriate American living in Scandinavia, do to break the zone of silence surrounding Belarus? While I was enjoying certain freedoms as a theater artist in this affluent Nordic country, my friends and colleagues elsewhere in Europe—writers, directors, journalists, and more—were being imprisoned and threatened.

Belarus Free Theatre
Essay

Belarus Free Theatre

Threats and Open Conversations

02 July 2014

These personal experiences of Belarus Free Theatre—what they have endured, and what they are willing to sacrifice for what they believe in—humbles me. I cannot imagine being arrested for doing theater, much less being physically threatened by my own government for a play I wrote or acted in or directed. Would I be able to be as brave as Khalezin and Koliada or the other members of their company?

Belarus Free Theatre's performance of Burning Doors at La MaMa, New York—Sunday 22 October 2017
Video

Belarus Free Theatre's performance of Burning Doors at La MaMa, New York—Sunday 22 October 2017

La MaMa in New York City presented Belarus Free Theatre's performance of Burning Doors livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Sunday 22 October at 4 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 20:00 UTC / 9 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 22:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 23:00 MSK/EEST (Minsk, Moscow, Beirut, UTC +3). On Twitter, follow @HowlRound@BFreeTheatre, and use #BurningDoors to share your thoughts.

Re-play Performance of Belarus Free Theatre’s Tomorrow I Was Always a Lion—Arcola Theatre, London—Sunday 23 October 2016
Video

Re-play Performance of Belarus Free Theatre’s Tomorrow I Was Always a Lion—Arcola Theatre, London—Sunday 23 October 2016

Belarus Free Theatre in association with The Albany presented a video replay performance of Tomorrow I Was Always a Lion from the Arcola Theatre in London, UK on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 23 October at 7:30 p.m. BST (London) / 18:30 UTC / 2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30am PDT (Los Angeles) / 20:30 CEST (Berlin) / 21:30 MSK (Minsk/Moscow). On Twitter follow @BFreeTheatre@HowlRoundTV, and use #AlwaysALion.

Performance of Burning Doors by Belarus Free Theatre with Pussy Riot's Maria Alyokhina in Manchester—Wednesday 12 October 2016
Video

Performance of Burning Doors by Belarus Free Theatre with Pussy Riot's Maria Alyokhina in Manchester—Wednesday 12 October 2016

Belarus Free Theatre presented Burning Doors with Pussy Riot's Maria Alyokhina livestreamed from Contact in Manchester, UK on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Wednesday 12 October at 12 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. EDT (New York) / 19:00 UTC/GMT / 8 p.m. BST (London) / 21:00 CEST (Berlin) / 22:00 MSK/EEST (Minsk, Moscow, Beirut). On Twitter, follow @HowlRoundTV@BFreeTheatre, and use #BurningDoors to share your thoughts. Watch the livestream here on HowlRound.TV or on the Belarus Free Theatre's livestream webpage.

Belarus Free Theatre’s Staging a Revolution Festival in London— Monday 2 November - Saturday 14 November 2015
Video

Belarus Free Theatre’s Staging a Revolution Festival in London— Monday 2 November - Saturday 14 November 2015

Belarus Free Theatre presented the Staging a Revolution Festival livestreamed to audiences across the world by CultureHub on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv and simultaneously via Belarus Free Theatre's sister website The Ministry of Counterculture from Monday November 2 to Saturday November 14. Each evening’s performance will be available to view online here for two weeks after the livestream.

Performance of Belarus Free Theatre’s Trash Cuisine from La MaMa in New York—Sunday 17 May 2015
Video

Performance of Belarus Free Theatre’s Trash Cuisine from La MaMa in New York—Sunday 17 May 2015

 

La MaMa presented a performance of Belarus Free Theatre's Trash Cuisine livestreamed from New York City on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 17 May at 1 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 2 p.m. MDT (Calgary) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. EDT (Montreal) / 20:00 GMT / 9 p.m. BST (London) / 10 p.m. CEST (Berlin) / 11 p.m. FET (Minsk).