fbpx Segal Talk: Paco Bezerra | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreaming on this page on Wednesday 13 March 2024 9:00 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 11:00 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -6) / 12:00 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -5) / 16:00 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 17:00 CET (Berlin, UTC +1).

Wednesday 13 March 2024

Segal Talk: Paco Bezerra

Join us virtually for a talk with playwright Paco Bezerra (Spain), translator Anton Pujol, and director Kimi Ramirez. Moderated by Frank Hentschker

Wednesday 13 March 2024
Remote video URL

During this hour-long conversation, they will discuss their upcoming New York premiere of The Little Pony (translated by the late Marion Peter Holt), which is directed by Ramirez and running at Torn Page from 7-23 March 2024. They will also discuss the new collection of Bezerra's plays (translated by Pujol), Cutting-Edge Spanish Theatre, published in September 2023. Moderated by Frank Hentschker.

Biographies:

Paco Bezerra is one of Spain’s leading contemporary dramatists. His awards include National Literary Drama Award in 2009, The Calderon de la Barca National Theatre Prize in 2007, and the Eurodram Award 2014. Bezerra's plays have been translated into several languages and are being produced all over the globe. He trained as an actor at William Layton Theater Laboratory Madrid and read Theatre Science and Dramaturgy at the Royal School of Dramatic Art of Madrid.

Kimi Ramírez is a professor, playwright, performance poet, and critic with an MFA. in Playwriting and a PhD in Theatre and Performance. They are currently affiliated with The City University of New York, Speranza Theatre Company, Macondo Writers Workshop, The Lucille Lortel Awards, and Talkin' Broadway. Dr. Ramírez is a member of The International Association of Theatre Critics and The Dramatists Guild. @drkimirami

Anton Pujol is an Associate Professor of Spanish at The University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Department Of Languages And Culture Studies at the College Of Humanities & Earth And Social Sciences. He is the translator of four of Paco Bezerra's plays that have been recently published by Methuen Drama/Bloomsbury under the title Plays by Paco Bezerra: Cutting-Edge Spanish Theatre.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email [email protected] or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First

Subscribe to HowlRound

Sign up for our daily, weekly, or quarterly emails so you never miss the latest theatre conversations.

Sign me up

Supporting HowlRound

We fundraise to keep all our programs free and open and to pay our contributors. Thank you to all who make our work possible!

Donate today