Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 21 September at 1 p.m. EDT (New York) / 12 p.m. CDT / 11 a.m. MDT / 10 a.m. PDT / 9 a.m. AKDT (Alaska).

New York, NY, United States
Sunday 21 September 2014

Sliver of a Full Moon by Cherokee playwright Mary Kathryn Nagle

Sunday 21 September 2014

 

Thumbnail

 

The National Indigenous Women's Resource Center, the Indian Law Resource Center, and the National Congress of American Indians presented Sliver of a Full Moon, a powerful new play by Cherokee playwright Mary Kathryn Nagle as part of the United Nations’ World Conference on Indigenous Peoples, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 21 September at 1 p.m. EDT (New York) / 12 p.m. CDT / 11 a.m. MDT / 10 a.m. PDT / 9 a.m. AKDT (Alaska) at the Church Center for the United Nations Chapel in New York, and then again on Joe's Pub Youtube page at 7 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6 p.m. CDT / 5 p.m. MDT / 4 p.m. PDT / 3 p.m. AKDT (Alaska) at Joe's Pub at The Public Theater in New York.

Sliver of a Full Moon documents the grassroots movement that led to the historic reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act (“VAWA”) in March 2013, complete with a new provision restoring tribal jurisdiction over non-native offenders who commit crimes against Native women. Sliver of a Full Moon's cast features three of the courageous women who stepped forward in 2013 to share their stories of survival and abuse with Congress: Diane Millich (Southern Ute), Lisa Brunner (White Earth Ojibwe), and Billie Jo Rich (Eastern Band Cherokee).

 

Thumbnail

 

There will be a talk back following the first performance. To participate in the online conversation, use Twitter hashtag #howlround#SliverofaFullMoon and/or #nativewomen and direct your questions @HowlRound.

Watch the HowlRound TV video-on-demand from the performance at Church Center for the United Nations Chapel—

 

 

Thumbnail

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First